Connect with us

Writers Guild Noms Announced


Writers Guild Noms Announced

The Writers Guild of America, East and West has announced the nominations for outstanding achievement in screen, television and radio writing for the 2002 season. All animated entries have been concentrated in the “Television Animation — any length” category, where Simpsons scribes are up against writers of Futurama, King of the Hill and a Rankin & Bass Christmas special titled Santa Baby!

John Frink and Don Payne are up for The Simpsons episode “The Bart Wants What it Wants.” Also nominated from the Simpsons team is Bob Bendetson for “Blame it on Lisa,” and Matt Selman for “Jaws Wired Shut.”

Gracie Films, Twentieth Century Fox Television and creator Matt Groening are also represented by Ken Keeler, who is up for the episode “Godfellas” from Fox’s Futurama, while Alex Gregory and Peter Huyck got a nod for their work on the episode “My Own Private Rodeo,” from fellow Fox Sunday night staple King of the Hill. In addition, writers Peter Bakalian and Suzanne Collins are up Santa, Baby! which also aired on Fox.

The nominated scripts were originally broadcast between Sept. 1, 2001, and Nov. 30, 2002. All teleplays and radio scripts were read by panels of judges.

The winners will be announced Saturday, March 8, 2003, at the 55th Annual Writers Guild Awards ceremonies on both coasts. The Writers Guild of America, West ceremonies will be held in Beverly Hills at the Beverly Hilton Hotel, and the Writers Guild of America, East event will be held in New York at the Pierre Hotel.

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in Television


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top