Connect with us

Academy Announces 2012 Student Oscar Winners


Academy Announces 2012 Student Oscar Winners

Ten students from nine U.S. colleges and universities have been selected as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 39th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. Winners will be brought to Los Angeles to join the international student winners in the Foreign Film category for a week of industry activities. The festivities will culminate in the awards ceremony on Saturday, June 9, at 6 p.m. at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills, where the placements in each category will be announced.

Here are the winners in the Animation Category:

Eyrie by David Wolter (California Institute of the Arts)

The Jockstrap Raiders by Mark Nelson (UCLA)

My Little Friend by Eric Prah (Ringling College of Art and Design)

Here are the winners in the other categories:


The Reality Clock by Amanda Tasse, University of Southern California*

*Only one winner was selected in this category.


Dying Green by Ellen Tripler, American University

Hiro: A Story of Japanese Internment by Keiko Wright, New York University

Lost Country by Heather Burky, Art Institute of Jacksonville


Nani by Justin Tipping, American Film Institute

Narcocorrido by Ryan Prows, American Film Institute

Under by Mark Raso, Columbia University

To reach this stage, U.S. students competed in one of three regional competitions. Each region is permitted to send to the Academy up to three finalists in each of the four categories. Academy members earlier selected students from Germany and the United Kingdom as finalists in the Foreign Film category.

To follow the journeys of the 2012 Student Academy Award winners, visit

The 39th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony on June 9 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required. Tickets are available online at, in person at the Academy box office, or by mail. The Samuel Goldwyn Theater is located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences


More in Schools


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top
// chamara 18.07.2021 plugins/magic-liquidizer-responsive-table/magic-liquidizer-responsive-table.php