Connect with us

Jennifer Yuh Nelson Joins Academy Govs


Jennifer Yuh Nelson Joins Academy Govs

The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences has appointed Kung Fu Panda 2 and 3 director Jennifer Yuh Nelson to its Board of Governors as part of its initiative to increase diversity to its leadership. Yuh Nelson, a member of the Short Films and Feature Animation Branch, is joined on the 51-seat Board by two other new appointees: Reginald Hudlin (Directors Branch) and Gregory Nava (Writers Branch).

Current Board members confirmed the new governors for three-year terms, effective immediately. The Board also appointed Academy members to each of the six Board committees that provide oversight to specific Academy areas. Disney Legend Floyd Norman notably joins the Education and Outreach Committee.

These are: Actor Gael Garcia Bernal, who joins the Awards and Events Committee; cinematography Amy Vincent, Preservation and History Committee; producer Effie Brown, Museum Committee; executive Marcus Hu and animator Floyd Norman, Education and Outreach Committee; executive Vanessa Morrison, Finance Committee; and producer Stephanie Allain, Membership and Administration Committee.

Further, the Board reaffirmed its January 21 resolution to ensure Academy voters are active in the industry. Each branch executive committee will determine specific criteria for active voters, based on the guidelines laid out in January. Active voters are those who have worked in the motion picture industry in the last 10 years, those who have worked any time during three 10-year periods (consecutive or not), and members who have won or been nominated for an Oscar.

Jennifer Yuh Nelson

Jennifer Yuh Nelson


More in People


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top
// chamara 18.07.2021 plugins/magic-liquidizer-responsive-table/magic-liquidizer-responsive-table.php