Connect with us

Disney Sets Film Exec Lineup in Wake of Fox Layoffs

Emma Watts


North America

Disney Sets Film Exec Lineup in Wake of Fox Layoffs

Following the first round of layoffs of senior 20th Century Fox executives, new owner The Walt Disney Co. has announced the leaders who will shepherd the next chapters for acquired divisions 20th Century Fox, Fox Family, Fox Searchlight Pictures, Fox 2000 and Blue Sky Studios.

Blue Sky Studios (Ice Age, Rio, Ferdinand) and the Fox Animation division will continue to be led by Co-Presidents Andrea Miloro and Robert Baird, reporting to Disney Studios Chairman Alan Horn, Fox Vice Chairman/President of Production Emma Watts and Disney Animation Studios Chief Creative Officer Jennifer Lee. The studio has three feature films slated for the next three years — Spies in Disguise (Sept. 13), Nimona (Feb. 14, 2020) and Foster (March 5, 2021) — but its fate is yet to be determined.

As previously revealed, Fox 2000 — which has brought the Alvin and the Chipmunks, Night at the Museum and Percy Jackson franchises as well as critically acclaimed flicks Hidden Figures and Life of Pi to screen — will be shut down. Elizabeth Gabler will continue to lead the imprint as President through the completion of the current slate.

The rest of the confirmed leadership, all of whom report to Horn, are:

Vanessa Morrison – President, Fox Family; reporting to Watts (continuing)

Nancy Utley – Chairman, Fox Searchlight Pictures (continuing)

Stephen Gilula – Chairman, Fox Searchlight Pictures (continuing)

Sean Bailey – President, Walt Disney Studios Motion Picture Production (live action) (continuing)

Pete Docter – Chief Creative Officer, Pixar Animation Studios (continuing)

Kevin Feige – President, Marvel Studios (continuing)

Louis D’Esposito – Co-President, Marvel Studios (continuing)

Kathleen Kennedey – President, Lucasfilm (continuing)

Ken Bunt – President, Disney Music Group (continuing)

Thomas Schumacher – President & Producer, Disney Theatrical Group (continuing)

Paul Roeder – Senior Vice President, Walt Disney Studios Communications

Carolyn Wilson – Senior Vice President, Walt Disney Studios Human Resources

Asad Ayaz – President, Walt Disney Studios Marketing

Cathleen Taff – President, Walt Disney Studios Distribution, Franchise Management, and Business & Audience Insights

Jeff Miller – President, Walt Disney Studios Operations

Bernardine Brandis – Executive Vice President, Walt Disney Studios Business Affairs

Steve Bardwil – Chief Counsel, Walt Disney Studios Legal Affairs

Paul Shurgot – Executive Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, Walt Disney Studios Finance

Jamie Voris – Senior Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, Walt Disney Studios Technology

Robert Johnson – Senior Vice President, Walt Disney Studios Labor Relations

Continuing to report to Walt Disney Studios President Alan Bergman are Walt Disney Animation Studios President Andrew Millstein and Pixar Animation Studios President Jim Morris.



More in People


Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.


To Top