Connect with us

DreamWorks Assembles Voice Star Lineup for ‘The Bad Guys’

Sam Rockwell | Craig Robinson | Awkwafina
Sam Rockwell | Craig Robinson | Awkwafina


North America

DreamWorks Assembles Voice Star Lineup for ‘The Bad Guys’

Academy Award winner Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri), Awkwafina (The Farewell, Marvel’s Shang-Chi), Marc Maron (GLOW), Craig Robinson (Hot Tub Time Machine), Anthony Ramos (In the Heights), Richard Ayoade (Paddington 2), Zazie Beetz (Joker), Lilly Singh (Bad Moms) and Emmy Award winner Alex Borstein (The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel) have rounded out the cast of The Bad Guys — the new feature film from DreamWorks Animation, based on the New York Times best-selling Scholastic book series by Aaron Blabey.

The original animated comedy is described as an action-packed heist for all ages and follows a crackerjack criminal crew of animal outlaws as they attempt their most challenging con yet — becoming model citizens. The film will be the feature directorial debut for Pierre Perifel (animator, Kung Fu Panda films). Damon Ross (development executive Trolls, The Boss Baby; co-producer Nacho Libre) and Rebecca Huntley (associate producer, The Boss Baby) will produce. Blabey, Etan Cohen and Patrick Hughes will executive produce.

The Bad Guys will be released on April 15, 2022.

The Bad Guys

The Bad Guys

DreamWorks Animation’s upcoming theatrical feature slate also includes Puss in Boots: The Last Wish (Sept. 23, 2022), directed by Joel Crawford and produced by Mark Swift of The Croods: A New Age and starring Antonio Banderas. The studio’s most recent feature, The Boss Baby: Family Business, has grossed $61 million since its July 2 release in theaters and on NBCUniversal’s Peacock streaming platform.

Rockwell is represented by Gersh and Untitled. Awkwafina is represented by UTA, Artists First and attorney Isaac Dunham. Maron is represented by ICM, Avalon Management Group and Granderson Des Rochers. Robinson is represented by UTA, 3 Arts and Ziffren Brittenham. Ramos is represented by CAA, Door 24, Modest Management, and Paul Hastings. Ayoade is represented by WME and PBJ Management. Beetz is represented by CAA, Management 360 and attorney David Weber. Singh is represented by WME and XX Artists. Borstein is represented by WME.


More in Features


Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.


To Top