Connect with us

Academy Screens 45 Shorts for Oscar Consideration


Academy Screens 45 Shorts for Oscar Consideration

Last weekend, the Academy screened the 45 projects that were submitted for Best Animated Shorts consideration. Members of the Shorts and Animation branch of the Academy will vote for the 10 titles to be included on the short list and we will finally learn about the final five nominees with the rest of the contenders on Jan. 24.

Here is the list of the submitted shorts, which is a healthy mix of shorts produced by studios such as Disney, Pixar, Sony Pictures Animation and Warner Bros., international entries from Studio AKA, Platige Image, BreakThru Films, Human Ark, Axis Animation, National Film Board of Canada and submissions from indie animators such as David Levy, David Chai and Koji Yamamura:

  • A Morning Stroll by Grant Orchard (Studio AKA)

  • A Shadow of Blue by Carlos Lascano

  • Birdboy by Alberto Vasquez (Abrikim Studio)

  • Chopin’s Drawings by Dorota Kobiela (BreakThru Films) Poland

  • Correspondence by Zach Hyer (Pratt)

  • Daisy Cutter by Enrique Garcia and Rubin Salazar (Silverspace)

  • Dimanche / Sunday by Patrick Doyon (NFB)

  • El Salon Mexico by Paul Glickman and Tamarind King

  • Enrique Wrecks the World by David Chai

  • Ente Tod Und Tulipe (Duck Death and the Tulip) by Matthias Bruhn (Richard Lutterbeck – Trickstudio)

  •  Fat Hamster by Adam Wyrwas (BreakThru Films) Poland

  • Grandpa Looked Like William Powell by David Levy

  • Hamster Heaven by Paul Bolger (BreakThru Films) Poland

  • I Tawt I Taw a Puddy Tat by Matt O’Callaghan (Warner Bros.)

  • I Was the Child of Holocaust Survivors by Anne Marie Fleming (NFB)

  • Ingrid Pitt: Beyond the Forest by Kevin Sean Michaels USA

  • Kahanikar by Nandita Jain (National Film and Television School) England

  • La Luna by Enrico Casarosa (Pixar)

  • Little Postman by Dorota Kobiela (BreakThru Films) Poland

  • Luminaris by Juan Pablo Zaramella (JPZaramella Studios)

  • Luna by Donna Brockopp (Rainmaker) Canada

  • Maska by Timothy and Stephen Quay (Sem-ma-for) Poland

  • Muybridge’s Strings by Koji Yamamura

  • My Hometown by Jerry Levitan, Written and Narrated by Yoko Ono (Eggplant)

  • Night Island by Salvador Maldonado (BreakThru Films) Poland

  • Nullarbor by Alister Lockhart

  • Papa’s Boy by Leevi Lemmetty (BreakThru Films) Poland

  • Paths of Hate by Damien Nenow (Platige Image) Poland

  • Romance by George Schwizgebel (NFB & Studio GDS)

  • Specky Four-Eyes by Jean Claude Rozec (Vivement Lundi)

  • Spirits of the Piano by Magdalena Osinska (BreakThru Films) Poland

  • Thank You by Pendleton Ward and Thomas Herpich (Produced by Cartoon Network Studios in partnership with Frederator)

  • The Ballad of Nessie by Stevie Wermers (Walt Disney Studios)

  • The External World by David O’ Reilly

  • The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore by William Joyce and Brandon Oldenburg (Moonbot Studios)

  • The Gloaming by Nobrain (Autour De Minuit) France

  • The Lost Town of Switez by Kamil Polak (Human Ark) Poland

  • The Magic Piano by Martin Clapp (BreakThru Films) Poland

  • The Monster of Nix by Rosto

  • The Renter by Jason Carpenter (CalArts)

  • The Smurf’s A Christmas Carol by Troy Quane (Sony Pictures Animation)

  • The Tannery by Iain Gardner (Axis Animation)

  • The Vermeers by Tal S. Shamir

  • Vincenta by Samuel Orti Marti

  • Wild Life by Amanda Forbis & Wendy Tilby (NFB)


More in Features



Recent Posts


Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top
// chamara 18.07.2021 plugins/magic-liquidizer-responsive-table/magic-liquidizer-responsive-table.php Advertisement