Connect with us

UWE Bristol, NFTS Projects Win RTS Student Awards for Animation

RTS Student Awards
RTS Student Awards

Festivals & Events


UWE Bristol, NFTS Projects Win RTS Student Awards for Animation

The Royal Television Society (RTS), Britain’s leading forum for television and related media, has announced the winners of the national RTS Student Television Awards 2021, sponsored by Kinetic Content. The winners were crowned during a virtual ceremony held this afternoon on the RTS website, which was hosted by broadcast presenter and award-winning radio host, Vick Hope.

For 2021, the National Film and Television School received the highest number of wins across the 17 U.K. institutions nominated, taking home seven awards (including Postgraduate Animation), followed by the University of Salford with three. The inaugural Young Filmmaker Award was presented to Max Tobin, Ed Whyte, Joe Luk, Oli Thomas and Almir Datoo for their live-action drama I Will Despise You. The jury described the film as impressively made and ambitious, with the script being a triumph.

The awards celebrate the best audiovisual work created by students across the U.K. at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. This year students submitted an original film of their creation of up to 30 minutes in duration, for categories including Animation, Scripted, Non-Scripted for undergraduate entries, and Animation, Scripted, Non-Scripted, News, Entertainment and Natural History for postgraduates. Awards were also presented today for craft skills for both the undergraduate and postgraduate entries, including Camerawork, Editing, Production Design, Sound and Writing.

Siobhan Greene, Managing Director, 110% Content and Chair of the RTS Student Television Awards, said, “This year the juries had difficult decisions to make, narrowing down an extensive line-up of entries from all over the U.K.; even more impressive as many were produced under restricted conditions due to COVID. It’s with a real sense of pride we recognise and celebrate the talent coming into the industry this afternoon. Our heartfelt congratulations to all the winners.”

My Favourite Hill

My Favourite Hill – Chris Childs (UWE Bristol)

Undergraduate Animation:

WINNER: My Favourite Hill – Chris Childs (UWE Bristol)

Jury statement: This film was a comedic hit with everyone on the jury. The dialogue was hilariously delivered and crafted by Chris, creating lots of laughs. Overall, an interesting and enjoyable commentary on working life, as well as a lovely tribute. Trailer


  • Husky – Darragh Scott (The National Film School, IADT)
  • Last Week – Jamie Walsh (University of Central Lancashire)
  • Spellbound – Amelia Parker, Beth Ryan and Team (Arts University Bournemouth)
The Song of a Lost Boy

The Song of a Lost Boy – Daniel Quirke, Jamie MacDonald, Brid Arnstein, Emma Langguth and Team (National Film and Television School)

Postgraduate Animation

WINNER: The Song of a Lost Boy – Daniel Quirke, Jamie MacDonald, Brid Arnstein, Emma Langguth and Team (National Film and Television School)

Jury statement: The jury really enjoyed this film with its unique style and message of acceptance told in such an interesting and original way. It was evident that a lot of deep thought had gone into the design and materials chosen, with excellent choices made from start to finish. Trailer


  • Between Us – Niancao Yang, Lite Zhu, Tim Steemson and Yali Shen (LCC)(University of the Arts London)
  • Something Borrowed – Micky Wozny, Nathan Hardisty, Andrew St Maur, Twan Peeters and Gabe Robertson (National Film and Television School)
  • The Fire Next Time – Renaldho Pelle, Kerry Jade Kolbe, Yangling Wang, Fabio Mota, Robin Whalley and Team (National Film and Television School)

For more information please visit:


More in Festivals & Events


Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.


To Top