Connect with us

SVA’s Dusty Awards Winners Announced

Festivals and Events

SVA’s Dusty Awards Winners Announced

The 28th Dusty Film & Animation Festival has wrapped up, concluding with the presentation of the 2017 Dusty Awards at New York City’s SVA Theatre. The ceremony, featuring notable presenters from the entertainment world, highlighted the work of more than 100 graduating students from the School of Visual Arts’ BFA Film and BFA Animation departments.

In addition to the student awardees (listed below), this year’s alumni awards were bestowed on Titmouse animation studio co-founders Shannon and Chris Prynoski, and Oscar-winning composer Michael Giacchino (Up).

“We are so proud, in this 28th year of the Dustys, to recognize these promising filmmakers and animators,” said Reeves Lehmann, chair of the BFA Film and BFA Animation programs at SVA. “We are excited to celebrate the successes of our students with many guests from the worlds of film and animation.”

Festival producer/director, Annie Flocco added: “We’d also like to extend a big thank you to our many generous sponsors and supporters, some of whom have been with us for many years, and to the spectacular SVA Theatre crew for collaborating on another year of stellar events.”

2017 Dusty Award winners:


Outstanding Animated Film: Fiona Chenxue Lu, To Be Fiona

Outstanding Achievement in Character Animation: Joseph Sulsenti, Fishy

Outstanding Achievement in Animation Production Design:

Joseph Sulsenti, Fishy

Fiona Chenxue Lu, To Be Fiona

Human Spirit Award – Animation: Soren Hughes, A Sun Came

Special Jury Award – Animation:

Branko Kljajic, The Heist

Alexa Swanson, Friend Fiction

Demitria Bozas, Selfish


Outstanding Film: Alejandro Cortés Sánchez, The Disappeared

Outstanding Documentary: Nicolás López Santamaria, InSight

Outstanding Achievement in Directing: Miwa Sakulrat, Nymph

Outstanding Achievement in Screenwriting: Shailyn Cotton, After Oil

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography: Alexander Echevarria, Nymph

Outstanding Achievement in Editing: John Tashiro, A Girl Named Hope

Gotham Sound Honorary Grant: Varyana Galdamez

New York Women in Film & Television Award: Miwa Sakulrat

IFP Award: Julia Anquier

Human Spirit Award – Film: Etna Özbek, water, water everywhere

Special Jury Award – Film: Ameer Kazmi, Fair Grounds

Visit for more information.

28th Dusty Film & Animation Festival

28th Dusty Film & Animation Festival


More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top