Connect with us

Persepolis Nabs Another Prize at Cartoon Movie

Festivals and Events

Persepolis Nabs Another Prize at Cartoon Movie

Although they lost the Oscar to Brad Bird and Ratatouille, Persepolis directors Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud won the Award for Best European Director of the Year at this week’s Cartoon Movie gathering in Postdam, Germany. Other nominees in the category were Victor Maldonado and Adrian Garcia for the Spanish toon Nocturna (Filmax) and Ben Stassen for Fly Me to the Moon (nWave).

The Cartoon Movie Tributes are presented in conjunction with the annual industry event, which celebrated its 10th edition this year. Sponsored in part by the MEDIA Program of the EU and the Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg and the German Federal Film Board, the industry forum seeks to strengthen collaboration, creativity and growth in the European animation industry.

The Award for Best European Distributor of the Year was given to Europa Distribution, and the prize for Best European Producer of the Year went to Prima Linea, whose bold black-and-white anthology collection Peur(s) du Noir (Fears of the Dark) was screened yesterday at the event.

More information on the 10th edition of Cartoon Movie and images are

available at

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top