Connect with us

Persepolis, Golden Age Nab Grand Prizes at Ottawa

Festivals and Events

Persepolis, Golden Age Nab Grand Prizes at Ottawa

Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Parronaud’s black-and-white animated feature Persepolis, Koji Yamamura’s short Franz Kafka’s A Country Doctor and Aaron Augenblick’s Golden Age were three of the big prize winners at the recent edition of the Ottawa International Animation Festival this past weekend.

This year’s event, held September 19th thru 23rd, packed screenings, sold out workshops, high profile networking events such as the Television Animation Conference and the Animarket Trade and Recruiting Fair. The toon event registered over 1500 industry pass holders and 23,000 attendees. Bruce Alcock (Canada), Ruth Lingford (U.K.) and Joanna Quinn (U.K.) were three of the international prize jury members.

In picking Persepolis as the winner of the Mercury Filmworks Prize for Best Animated Feature, the jury noted: ‘Persepolis is not only a sour criticism of intolerance but especially a vibrating call for the universal rights for freedom, democracy and love. By using very simple but powerful designs, the authors of Persepolis succeeded in creating a unique and original cinematographic language in which humanism and feelings are emerging.’

Here’s the complete list of the winners:

Vincent Paronnaud & Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis (Mercury Filmworks Prize for Best Animated Feature

Koji Yamamura’s Franz Kafka’s A Country Doctor (Nelvana Grand Prize for Best Indie Short Animation)

Tibor Banoczki’s Milk Teeth (Bioware Grand Prize for Best Student Animation)

Aaron Augenblick’s Golden Age (Best Commissioned Animation)

Claude Cloutier’s Sleeping Beauty (Canadian Film Institute Award for Best Canadian Animation)

Josh Raskin’s I Met the Walrus (Honorable Mention for Best Canadian Animation)

Bezalel Academy for Art & Design, Israel (Best Animation School Reel)

Chris Lavis and Maciek Szczerbowski’s Madame Tutli-Putli, National Film Board of Canada; (Best Indie Short Animation Competition: Narrative Short Animation Under 35 mins.)

Bert Gottschalk’s Framing Bildfenser/Fensterbilder (Indie Short: Experimental/Abstract Animation under 35 mins.)

Singe Baumane’s Teat Beat of Sex (Honorable Mention)

Aven Fisher’s Herbert, King’s View Academy (Best Student Animation, Adobe Prize for Best High School Animation)

Michael Langan’s Doxology, Rhode Island School of Design (Best Undergrad. Animation)

Tom Brown and Daniel Gray’s t.o.m., Intl. Film School of Wales, UK (Best Graduate Animation)

Marc Craste’s National Lottery: The Big Win, Studio AKA (Best Commissioned Animation, Promotional Animation)

Shoji Goto’s OOIOO Umo (Best Music Video)

Matthew Walker, Athur Cox Ltd.’s John and Karen (Best TV Animation for Adults)

Jeff Scher’s L’eau Life, Fez Films (Aniboom Prize for Animation Short Made for the Internet)

Oleg Uzhinov’s Zhiharka Pilot, Moscow Animation Studio (Best Short Animation Made for Children)

Catherine Arcand’s Nightmare at School (Honorable Mention, Best Short Animation Made for Children)

Uzi Geffenblad and Lotta Geffenblad’s Aston’s Stones (Honorable Mention, Best Short Animation Made for Children, Canada)

Craig McCracken’s Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends ‘Squeeze the Day’ Cartoon Network (Best TV Animation for Children)

Guillermo Garcia and Alfonso Rodriguez’ Pocoyo ‘Dance Off’ Zinkia Ent., Granada Intl. (Best TV Animation for Children Honorable Mention)

Claude Cloutier’s Sleeping Beauty, National Film Board of Canada (Special Prize Winner, National Film Board of Canada Public Prize, Voted by the Audience)

For more information about the Ottawa Festival, visit

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top