Connect with us

‘Penguins of Madagascar’ Leads Daytime Emmy Race

Festivals and Events

‘Penguins of Madagascar’ Leads Daytime Emmy Race

The National Academy of TV Arts and Sciences has unveiled the nominees for the 38th Annual Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards. Leading the race is Nickelodeon’s Penguins of Madagascar with eight nominations, followed by The Hub’s Transformers Prime which earned six noms.

The Daytime Emmy Awards will be telecast on June 19th, 2011 on CBS from the Vegas Hilton. Wayne Brady will host the live telecast. The Daytime Entertainment Creative Arts Emmy will be held at the Westin Bonaventure in LA on Friday, June 17, 2011. Pat Sajak and Alex Trebek will both receive the Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Here is a list of the key animation-related category nominees:

Outstanding Children’s Animated Program:

The Backyardigans (Nickelodeon)
Exec producers: Janice Burgess; Co-expec producers: Roert Scull, Jonny Belt; supervising producers: Pam Lehn, Scott Dyer, Ellen Martin; producer: Lynne Warner; Line producers: Jennifer Hill, Sara Kamen

Curious George (PBS)
Exec producers: Ellen Cockrill, Ron Howard Carol Greenwald, Dorothea Gillim, Jon Shapiro, Brian Grazer, David Kirschner; coordinating producer: Paul Higgins, Matthew Baughman; series producer: Jacqui Deegan; producer: David Wilcox; co-producer: Share Stallings

Dinosaur Train (PBS)
Exec producers: Halle Sanford, Craig Bartlett, Lisa Henson, Brian Henson; co-exec producers: Jyotirmoy Saha; Wong Kok Cheong; producer: Sue Bea Montgomery

Penguins of Madagascar (Nickelodeon)
Exec producers: Robert Schooley, Mark McCorkle; co-exec producer,producer: Bret Haaland; supervising producer: Chris Neuhan; producers: Dean Hoff, Dina Buteyn

Sid the Science Kid (PBS)
Exec producers: Halle Stanford, Bradley Zweig, Lisa Henson, Joyce Campbell; producer: Chris Plourde

Outstanding Children’s Series:

The Electric Company (PBS)
Executive producer: Karen Fowler; co-exec producer: Willie Reale; coordinating producer: Carol Klein; producers: Scott Cameron, Dionne Nosek; line producer: Mark Santora

FETCH! with Ruff Ruffman (PBS)
Exec producers: Scott Cameron, Kate Taylor; coordinating producer: Eric Handler; producer: Marcy Gunther; series producer: Paul Serafini

Jack Hanna’s Into the Wild (Syndicated)
Exec producers: Jack Hanna, Guy Nickerson; supervising producer: Elaine Pugliese; line producer: Cyndie Nickerson

SciGirls (PBS)
VP, national productions: Gerald Richman, exec producer: Richard C Hudson; producers: Lisa Regalla, Emily Stevens, Joan Freese, Ashleigh V. Rowe, Angie Prindle, Angela Ewald; line producer: Joan O’Brien; series producer: Kathleen Shugrue

Outstanding Pre-School Children’s Series:

Between the Lions (PBS)
Exec producers: Judith Stoia, Judith Stoia, Brigid Sullivan, Christopher Cerf, Norman Stiles, Marie Antoon; series producer: Beth Kirsch; producers: Lisa Simon, Scott Colwell; coordinating producers: Bill Berner, Chris Cardillo, Rachel Ford

Disney Mickey Mouse Clubhouse (Disney Channel)
Executive producer: Rob LaDuca; line producer: Bradley Bowlen

Sesame Street (PBS)
Executive producer: Carol-Lynn Parente; senior producer: Tim Carter; coordinating producer: April Chadderon; producers: Benjamin Lehmann, Melissa Dino; line producer: Stephanie Longardo

Yo Gabba Gabba! (Nickelodeon)
Exec producers: Michael Polis, Jon Berret; creators: Christian Jacobs, Scott Schultz; producer: Ritamarie Peruggi; talent producer: Justin Lyon; line producer: Irene Diaz Oncley

Outstanding Special Class Animated Series:

Back at the Barnyard (Nickelodeon)
Exec producers: Steve Oedekerk, co-exec producer: Jed Spinarn; producer: Paul Marshal; line producer: Kyle Jolly

Fanboy and Chum Chum (Nickelodeon)
Exec producers: Eric Robles, Steve Tompkins, Fred Seibert; supervising producers: Shaun Cashman, Jason Meier; producers: Therese Trujillo, Dean Hoff; line producer: MacGregor Middleton

Outstanding Performer In An Animated Program:

Bill Farmer, as Goofy
Disney Mickey Mouse Clubhouse
(Disney Channel)

Danny Jacobs, as King Julien
Penguins of Madagascar

Tom McGrath, as Skipper
Penguins of Madagascar

Martin Short, as The Cat in the Hat
The Cat in the Hat Knows a Lot About That!

Peter Cullen, as Optimus Prime
Transformers Prime
(The Hub)

Steven Tyler, as The Mad Hatter
The Wonder Pets!

Outstanding Directing In An Animated Program:

Kick Buttowski (DisneyXD)
Chris Savino, Sherm Cohen

Fanboy and Chum Chum (Nickelodeon)
Brian Sheesley, Jim Schumann, Russell Calabrese, Ginny McSwain

Martha Speaks (PBS)
Dallas Parker, Colleen Holub, Terry Klassen

Penguins of Madagascar (Nickelodeon)
Nick Filippi, Christo Stamboliev, David Knott, Lisa Schaffer

Toot & Puddle (Nick Jr.)
Christian Larocque, Graham MacDonald, Emmanuelle Gignac, Dee Shipley

Transformers Prime (The Hub)
David Hartman, Shaunt Nigoghossian, Todd Waterman, Vinton Heuck, Susan Blu

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation:

Winners: “Diamond” Dave Merritt, Background Design
Toot & Puddle
(Nick Jr.)

Vince Toyama, Background Design
Transformers Prime
(The Hub)

Christophe Vacher, Color Design
Transformers Prime
(The Hub)

Kaz Aizawa, Background Painter
T.U.F.F. Puppy

Outstanding Writing In Animation:

Arthur (PBS)
Peter Hirsch, Gentry Menzel, David Steven Cohen, P. Kevin Strader, Jonathan Greenberg

Back at the Barnyard (Nickelodeon)
Gene Grillo, Tom Sheppard, Dan Serafin

Dinosaur Train (PBS)
Craig Bartlett, Joe Purdy, Elise Allen

Penguins of Madagascar (Nickelodeon)
Brandon Sawyer, Bill Motz, Bob Roth

Transformers Prime (The Hub)
Duane Capizzi, Steven Melching, Nicole Dubuc, Joseph Kuhr, Marsha Griffin

WordGirl (PBS)
Tom Martin, Eric Ledgin, Jack Ferraiolo, John Huss, Ryan Raddatz, Carla Filisha

Special Class Short Format Daytime

Gotham The Series (YouTube)
Martha Byrne

Tasty Time with Zefronk (Disney Channel)
Greg Chalekian, Robert Ramirez, Craig Shemin

Venice (
Kim Turrisi, Crystal Chappell


More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top