Connect with us

Ottawa Honors Mr. Christie, External World

Festivals and Events

Ottawa Honors Mr. Christie, External World

British animator Phil Mulloy’s film Goodbye Mister Christie won the top prize for features at the Ottawa International Animation Festival, which concluded Sunday.

The film, a continuation of The Christies, which won the top prize in Ottawa a few years back, beat out four other films in competition: Sylvain Chomet’s The Illusionist, the anime One Piece Film – Strong World, Keita Kurosawa’s Midori-Ko and Brent Glass’ Gravity Was Everywhere Back Then.

David O’Reilly’s short film The External World won the top prize for short films.

The full list of winners follows:

Nelvana Grand Prize for Best Independent Short Animation: The External World by David O’Reilly (United Kingdom).

Grand Prize for Best Animated Feature: Goodbye Mister Christie by Phil Mulloy (United Kingdom).

Walt Disney Animation Studios Grand Prize for Best Student Animation: Prayers for Peace by Dustin Grella (U.S.A.).

Grand Prize for Best Commissioned Animation: Going West by Martin Andersen and Line Andersen (New Zealand).

Best Animation School Showreel: Tokyo Arts University (Japan). Honorable Mention: Rhode Island School of Design (U.S.A.)

Best Narrative Short: This is love by Lei Lei (China).

Best Experimental/Abstract Animation: Little Deaths by Ruth Lingford.

Adobe Prize for Best High School Animation: Where is the love by Dae Woen Yoon and Joe Woo Shin (South Korea).

Best Undergraduate Animation: LGFUAD by Kelsey Stark (U.S.A.).

Best Graduate Animation: Prayers for Peace by Dustin Grella (U.S.A.).

Best Promotional Animation: WWF, Heroes of the UAE, by Josiah Newbolt and Ben Falk (United Kingdom).

Best Music Video: Blockhead, The Music Scene by Anthony Schepperd (U.S.A.).

Best Television Animation for Adults: Midtown Twist by Gary Leib (U.S.A.). Special Mentions: Tord och Tord (Tord and Tord) by Niki Lindroth von Bahr (Sweden), Fumiko no Kokuhaku (Fumiko’s Confession) by Ishida Hiroyasu (Japan).

Best Short Animation Made for Children: Cul de bouteille (Specky Four Eyes) by Jean-Claude Rozec (France). Honorable Mention: Diversity by Anthony Dusko (U.S.A.).

Best Television Animation Made for Children: The Gruffalo by Jakob Schuh and Max Lang (United Kingdom). Honorable Mention: Spliced ‘Helen’ by Matt Ferguson (Canada).

National Film Board of Canada Public Prize: Sinna Mann (Angry Man) by Anita Killi (Norway).

Canadian Film Institute Award for Best Canadian Animation: Lipsett Diaries by Theodore Ushev (Canada). Honorable Mention: Playtime by Steven Woloshen (Canada)

The members of the 2010 International Jury for the Short Program, Student and Commissioned Films are: Frances Leeming (Canada), Munro Ferguson (Canada), and Maya Yonesho (Japan).

The members of the International Jury for the Feature Film Competition are: Atsushi Wada (Japan), Torill Kove (Canada/Norway), and Michaela Pavlatova (Czech Republic).

The OIAF 2010 also has a special Kids Jury made up of local kids to select the Best Short Animation and the Best Television Animation Made for Children. This year’s Kids Jury members are: Riel Schryer, Rowan Martineau, Traicy Quintero, Erica Vong, Marc Patterson, Liza Roik, Thomas Berry, William von Herff, Namira Keshavjee, Kiera Kealey, and Lara Kelly.


More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top