Connect with us

‘Octonauts,’ ‘SpongeBob’ Receive 2017 PGA Nominations

Festivals & Events

‘Octonauts,’ ‘SpongeBob’ Receive 2017 PGA Nominations

The Producers Guild of America has revealed the TV category nominees for its 2017 PGA Awards. While there is no dedicated animation award, hit toons Octonauts and SpongeBob SquarePants will be squaring off against live-action series in the Outstanding Children’s Program contest — and there are a few VFX showpieces represented as well.

The PGA Award nominees for documentary were announced in November, and included Keith Maitland’s rotoscope feat Tower and Roger Ross Williams’ touching Life, Animated. Feature film nominees will be announced January 10, and the winners will be revealed Jan. 28 at the 28th Annual PGA Awards ceremony at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles.

Below is a select rundown of nominees, visit for more information.

2017 PGA Award Television Nominees

Outstanding Children’s Program

Girl Meets World (Season 2, Season 3)

Octonauts (Season 4)

School of Rock (Season 1)

Sesame Street (Season 46)

SpongeBob SquarePants (Season 9)

Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama

Better Call Saul (Season 2) Producers: Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Melissa Bernstein, Mark Johnson, Thomas Schnauz, Gennifer Hutchison, Nina Jack, Robin Sweet, Diane Mercer, Bob Odenkirk

Game of Thrones (Season 6) Producers: David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Bernadette Caulfield, Frank Doelger, Carolyn Strauss, Bryan Cogman, Lisa McAtackney, Chris Newman, Greg Spence

House of Cards (Season 4) Producers: Beau Willimon, Dana Brunetti, Michael Dobbs, Josh Donen, David Fincher, Eric Roth, Kevin Spacey, Robin Wright, John Mankiewicz, Robert Zotnowski, Jay Carson, Frank Pugliese, Boris Malden

Stranger Things (Season 1) Producers: Matt Duffer, Ross Duffer, Shawn Levy, Dan Cohen, Iain Paterson

Westworld (Season 1) Producers: J.J. Abrams, Jonathan Nolan, Lisa Joy, Bryan Burk, Athena Wickham, Kathy Lingg, Richard J. Lewis, Roberto Patino, Katherine Lingenfelter, Cherylanne Martin

David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television

Black Mirror (Season 3) This show is in the process of being vetted for individual producer eligibility

The Night Manager (Season 1) Producers: Simon Cornwell, Stephen Garrett, Stephen Cornwell, Hugh Laurie, Tom Hiddleston, Susanne Bier, David Farr, John le Carré, William D. Johnson, Alexei Boltho, Rob Bullock

The Night Of This show is in the process of being vetted for individual producer eligibility

The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story (Season 1) Producers: Scott Alexander, Larry Karaszewski, Ryan Murphy, Brad Falchuk, Nina Jacobson, Brad Simpson, D.V. DeVincentis, Anthony Hemingway, Alexis Martin Woodall, John Travolta, Chip Vucelich

Sherlock: The Abominable Bride This show is in the process of being vetted for individual producer eligibility

Outstanding Digital Series

30 for 30 Shorts (Season 5)

Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee (Season 7, Season 8)

Epic Rap Battles of History (Season 5)

Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: ACADEMY (Season 1)

National Endowment for the Arts: United States of Arts

PGA Awards

PGA Awards


More in Festivals & Events


Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.


To Top