Connect with us

Juried Emmys: Tartakovsky Scores 4th Win Amid Animation Achievement Awardees


Festivals and Events

North America

Juried Emmys: Tartakovsky Scores 4th Win Amid Animation Achievement Awardees

The Television Academy announced today the juried award winners for the 72nd Emmy Awards in categories from Animation, Choreography, Interactive Programming and Motion Design. The juried awards for these categories will be presented at the 2020 Creative Arts Awards ceremony on Thursday, Sept. 17, streaming on

The 2020 Creative Arts Emmy Awards will stream on for four consecutive nights beginning Monday, Sept. 14, through Thursday, Sept. 17, at 8:00 p.m. EDT/5:00 p.m. PDT with a fifth broadcast ceremony on Saturday, Sept. 19, at 8:00 p.m. EDT/5:00 p.m. PDT on FXX. All five shows will be produced by Bob Bain Productions.

In Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation, Genndy Tartakovsky received his fourth Emmy win for his Primal series, while the show’s art director Scott Wills won for the third time and character designer Stephen DeStefano received his first award. The category was rounded out by two more first-time winners: Jill Dykxhoorn and Dan MacKenzie.

This is the second Emmy win for Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s HITRECORD and Brian Graden Media and a first win for ARVORE Immersive Experiences in the Outstanding Innovation in Interactive Programming category. In the Outstanding Motion Design category, Leanne Dare received her second Emmy win, with Eben McCue, Sebastian Hoppe-Fuentes and David Navas all receiving their first win.

And Mandy Moore received her third Emmy win with her award for Outstanding Choreography for Scripted Programming, for Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist.



Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation:

Archer • Road Trip • FX Networks • FX Productions | Jill Dykxhoorn, Lead Background Artist

Cosmos: Possible Worlds • Vavilov • National Geographic • Possible Worlds LLC in association with FOX | Dan MacKenzie, Character Animator

Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal • Spear and Fang • Adult Swim • Cartoon Network Studios | Genndy Tartakovsky, Storyboard Artist

Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal • Spear and Fang • Adult Swim • Cartoon Network Studios | Scott Wills, Art Director

Genndy Tartakovsky’s Primal • A Cold Death • Adult Swim • Cartoon Network Studios | Stephen DeStefano, Character Designer

Cosmos: Possible Worlds

Cosmos: Possible Worlds

Outstanding Innovation in Interactive Programming:

Create Together • YouTube • HITRECORD, Brian Graden Media, YouTube Originals | Sam Wasserman, Executive Producer; Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Executive Producer

The Line • Oculus • ARVORE Immersive Experiences | Ricardo Laganaro, Director; Ricardo Justus, Executive Producer; Edouard de Montmort, Executive Producer

Outstanding Motion Design:

Inside Bill’s Brain: Decoding Bill Gates • Netflix • A Concordia Studio Production | Leanne Dare, Creative Director; Eben McCue, Animator; Sebastian Hoppe-Fuentes, Animator; David Navas, Animator

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group with the possibility of one, more than one or no entry being awarded an Emmy. As a consequence, there are no nominees but instead a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant’s work with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy.

The announcement follows the reveal of the 72nd Emmys key art on ABC’s Good Morning America Tuesday morning.

The 72nd Emmy Awards

The 72nd Emmy Awards

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top