Connect with us

‘Inside Out’ & ‘World of Tomorrow’ Take Home Annies

Festivals and Events

‘Inside Out’ & ‘World of Tomorrow’ Take Home Annies

The 43rd annual Annie Awards unfolded Saturday evening at UCLA’s Royce Hall. Among the top honors were Pixar’s Inside Out, which won the Best Animated Feature prize as well as 11 other categories — including Outstanding Music (Michael Giacchino), Outstanding Editing (Kevin Nolting), Outstanding Production Design (Ralph Eggleston), Outstanding Voice Acting (Phyllis Smith as “Sadness”), Outstanding Writing (Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley) and Best Directing (Pete Docter).

This year marked the first time out for the new Best Animated Feature – Independent category, which went to Ale Abreu’s Boy and the World (in theaters now through GKIDS). Don Hertzfeldt was given the Best Animated Short prize for World of Tomorrow (also up for the Oscar). Best Animated Special Production went to He Named Me Malala.

Other key wins went to Tumble Leaf, Wander Over Yonder, The Simpsons and The Revenant. Taha Neyestani won the Student Film category for ed, earning props for Sheridan College. This year’s Juried Award recipients included Winsor McCay honorees Joe Ranft (posthumously), Phil Roman and Isao Takahata, and the June Foray award went to Don Hahn.

Click here for the complete list of 2016 Annie Award recipients.

Inside Out

Inside Out


More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top
// chamara 18.07.2021 plugins/magic-liquidizer-responsive-table/magic-liquidizer-responsive-table.php