Connect with us

HPA Announces Nominees in 3 VFX Categories

Festivals and Events

HPA Announces Nominees in 3 VFX Categories

The Hollywood Post Alliance has announced its nominees for the 2014 HPA Awards, the 9th annual unveiling of these honors, including three categories for visual effects.

The nominees in the 12 craft categories were chosen from a field of talented and innovative entries in color grading, editing, sound and visual effects for motion pictures, commercials and television. Judging was completed by panels of category peers and other experts.

The winners will be announced during a Nov. 6 ceremony at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

Here are the nominees in the visual effects categories:

Outstanding Visual Effects – Feature Film

  • Gravity. Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Max Solomon, Paul Beilby and Stuart Penn. Framestore
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, R. Christopher White and Eric Reynolds. Weta Digital
  • Maleficent. Adam Valdez, Seth Maury, Kevin Hahn, David Seager and Carey Villegas. MPC
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier. Russell Earl, Steve Rawlins, Johan Thorngren, Francois Lambert and Daniel Pearson. Industrial Light & Magic
  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes. Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Erik Winquist, Keith Miller and Paul Story. Weta Digital

Outstanding Visual Effects – Television

  • House of Cards, “Chapter 19.” James Pastorius, Andy Witkowski, Rusty Ippolito and Andrew Roberts. Savage Visual Effects
  • Hawaii Five-0, “Ho’onani Makuakane.” Armen Kevorkian, Jane Sharvina, Andranik Taranyan, Steve Graves and Dan Lopez. Encore VFX
  • Game of Thrones, “The Children.” Joe Bauer, Fire and Blood Productions; Sven Martin, Pixomondo; Jörn Grosshans, Mackevision; Thomas Schelesny, Scanline VFX; Matthew Rouleau, Rodeo FX.
  • Silicon Valley, “Articles of Incorporation.” Lawson Deming, Cory Jamieson, Bill Parker, Casi Blume and Seth Cobb. Barnstorm VFX
  • Tyrant, “Pilot.” Doug Ludwig, Lindsay Hoppe, Chad Schott, Gevork Babityan, Arutyan Arthur Sayan. Encore VFX

Outstanding Visual Effects – Commercial

  • Lipton, “Be More Tea.” Ben Cronin, Charlie Bayliss and Russell Dodgson // Framestore
  • Qualcomm, “Snapdragon – Unsung Hero.” Andy Rowan-Robinson, Euna Kho, Matt Pascuzzi and Shayne Ryan // Framestore
  • GE, “Childlike Imagination.” Benjamin Walsh, Dominik Bauch and Brian Burke // Method Studios
  • Captain Morgan, “Fireship.” Murray Butler, Raul Ortego, Mike Bain and Andy Rowan-Robinson // Framestore
  • Audi A3 eTon, “Powerwalking.” Simon French, William Bartlett, Alex Doyle and Kimon Matara // Framestore

Additionally, Pixar’s Toy Story OF TERROR! was nominated for Outstanding Sound — Television; and Disney’s Frozen was nominated for Outstanding Sound – Feature Film.

HPA Awards

HPA Awards


More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top