Connect with us

‘History of Pets’ Wins ABP’s Top Prize

Festivals & Events

‘History of Pets’ Wins ABP’s Top Prize

Brooklyn’s popular Animation Block Party has announced its top prize winners. Dedicated to showcasing all genres of the world’s top indie, professional and student projects, ABP is directed by animation veteran Casey Safron. The event usually runs for three days at the end of July. The 10th anniversary edition of the event broke previous records with 4,000 in total attendance and many sold-out screenings.

The ABP 2013 Jury Award Winners are:

Best in Show
History of Pets – Kris Genijn / Netherlands

Original Design
Kick-heart – Masaaki Yuasa / Japan & NY

Computer Animation
Tumbleweed Tango – Sam Stephens & Christopher Mauch / NYC

Experimental Film
Junk – Kirk Hendry / UK

Music Video
Spacetime Fabric Softner – Ryan Mauskopf / NYC

Narrative Short
Disney Star Wars Corporate Retreat – Ron Yavnieli / LA

Student Film
Jamon – Iria Lopez / National Film & Television School

Minute Movie
Gum – Noam Sussman /

Sheridan Animation For Kids
Icarus Falls – Jesse O’Brien / Syracuse

Audience Award
Knock Knock – Chadwick Whitehead / Brooklyn

The Animation Block Party 2013 Prize Jury included Jerry Beck, animation historian at Cartoon Research; Carrie Miller, network manager at Frederator Studios; Devin Clark, creator of Comedy Central’s Ugly Americans; and Scout Raskin, animation acquisitions manager at ShadowMachine.

Prizes included software from Toon Boom, Digicel FlipBook, Dragonframe 3.0, designer bags from Crumpler, art supplies from Sakura, ABP DVDs, T-Shirts and a special ABP Production Grant for the winner of Best Student Film.

For more info, visit

Here’s the teaser for History of Pets!

History of Pets

History of Pets


More in Festivals & Events


Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.


To Top