Connect with us

‘Hawkeye,’ ‘Saga’ and ‘The Wake’ Lead Eisner Noms

Festivals & Events

‘Hawkeye,’ ‘Saga’ and ‘The Wake’ Lead Eisner Noms

Comic-Con International has revealed its list of 2014 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, honoring a diverse range of comic books and graphic novels. Leading the pack, with more than three nominations each, are Marvel’s Hawkeye (Best Continuing Series, Best Writer – Matt Fraction, Best Penciller/Inker and Best Cover Artist – David Aja), Image’s Saga (Continuing Series, Writer – Brian K. Vaughan, Best Painter and Cover Artist – Fiona Staples) and DC/Vertigo’s The Wake (Best Limited Series, Writer – Scott Snyder, Penciller/Inker – Sean Murphy, Cover Artist – Sean Murphy/Jordie Bellaire).

In the triple threat nominations club are Fantagraphic’s Love and Rockets: New Stories #6 (Best Short Story, Single Issue, Writer/Artist – Jaime Hernandez), Top Shelf’s March: Book One by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin and Nate Powell (Best Publication for Teens, Reality-Based Work, Penciller/Inker) and Candlewick’s Bluffton: My Summers with Buster by Matt Phelan (Publication for Teens, Graphic Album – New, Writer/Artist).

Other titles with multiple nominations are East of West (Jonathan Hickman and Nick Dragotta, Image), Nowhere Men (Eric Stephenson and Nate Bellegarde, Image), Pretty Deadly (Kelly Sue DeConnick and Emma Ríos, Image), Sex Criminals (Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky, Image), Hip Hop Family Tree (Ed Piskor, Fantagraphics), Today Is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life (Ulli Lust, Fantagraphics), The Adventures of Superhero Girl (Faith Erin Hicks, Dark Horse), The Fifth Beatle (Vivek J. Tiwary, Andrew C. Robinson, and Kyle Baker, Dark Horse), Richard Stark’s Parker: Slayground (Darwyn Cooke, IDW), Genius, Illustrated: The Life and Art of Alex Toth (Dean Mullaney and Bruce Canwell, LOAC/IDW), Rachel Rising (Terry Moore, Abstract Studio), The Art of Rube Goldberg (Abrams ComicArts), The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Isabel Greenberg, Little, Brown), Watson and Holmes (New Paradigm), The Complete Don Quixote (Rob Davis, SelfMadeHero), When David Lost His Voice (Judith Vanistendael, SelfMadeHero), Hilda and the Bird Parade (Luke Pearson, Nobrow), and High Crimes (Monkeybrain).

A complete list of nominees can be found here:

Voting for the awards i held online, with a ballot soon to be available at for comic-book industry professionals to vote on. The deadline for voting is June 13, and results will be announced at a gala ceremony at Comic-Con International on July 25. The event will also celebrate this year’s Eisner Hall of Fame automatic inductees Irwin Hasen (The Flash, Wildcat, Green Lantern), Sheldon Moldoff (Batman) and African American comics pioneer Orrin C. Evans. Nominees for the four vote-in slots for the Hall of Fame are Gus Arriola, Howard Cruse, Philippe Druillet, Rube Goldberg, Fred Kida, Hayao Miyazaki, Tarpe Mills, Alan Moore, Francoise Mouly, Dennis O’Neil, Antonio Prohias, Rumiko Takahashi, George Tuska and Bernie Wrightson.




More in Festivals & Events


Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.


To Top