Connect with us

‘Futurama’ Wins Emmy for Best Animated Show

Festivals and Events

‘Futurama’ Wins Emmy for Best Animated Show

Mark another win for Bender, Fry and the hard-working gang at Comedy Central’s Futurama. Exec produced by Matt Groening, David X. Cohen and Ken Keeler, the episode “The Late Philip J. Fry” took home the Emmy for Outstanding Animated Program on Saturday (Sep. 10) at the Creative Emmy Award ceremony. The series has won three Emmys and four nominations in previous years. The episode, which was first broadcast in July 29, 2010, finds Fry traveling into the future in Farnsworth’s new time machine before a big date with Leela. Here is the complete list of winners:

Futurama's "The Late Philip J. Fry" episode

Futurama's "The Late Philip J. Fry" episode

Outstanding Animated Program
Futurama • The Late Philip J. Fry • Comedy Central • The Curiosity Company in
association with Twentieth Century Fox Television
Matt Groening, Executive Producer
David X. Cohen, Executive Producer
Ken Keeler, Executive Producer
Dan Vebber, Co-Executive Producer
Patric M. Verrone, Co-Executive Producer
Josh Weinstein, Co-Executive Producer
Eric Horsted, Co-Executive Producer
Michael Rowe, Co-Executive Producer
Lee Supercinski, Produced By
Claudia Katz, Produced By
Gregg Vanzo, Animation Executive Producer
Lewis Morton, Written by
Peter Avanzino, Supervising Director/Directed By
Scott Vanzo, Director of Computer Graphics
Ira Sherak, Assistant Director

Outstanding Short-format Animated Program
Disney Prep & Landing: Operation Secret Santa • ABC • Walt Disney Studios
John Lasseter, Executive Producer
Dorothy McKim, Producer
Kevin Deters, Written By/Directed By
Stevie Wermers, Written By/Directed By

Outstanding Voice-Over Performance
Futurama • Lrrreconcilable Ndndifferences • Comedy Central • The Curiosity Company in association with Twentieth Century Fox Television
Maurice LaMarche as Lrrr & Orson Welles

(JURIED WINNERS) Individual Achievement in Animation
Community: Abed’s Uncontrollable Christmas • NBC • A Harmonious Claptrap production in association with 23D Films, Inc.
Drew Hodges, Character Animator

Disney Phineas And Ferb • Wizard Of Odd • Disney Channel • Disney Television Animation
Jill Daniels, Background Painter

Brian Woods, Background Design

Firebreather • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios
Peter Chung, Character Design

Sung Chang, Character Animator

Lilac Wine • • Blind, Inc.
Vanessa Marzaroli, Production Design

Young Justice • Independence Day • Cartoon Network • Warner Bros. Animation
Philip Bourassa, Character Design

Outstanding Special VFX for a Series

Boardwalk Empire (HBO)

Robert Stromberg, VFX Designer HBO

David Taritero, VFX Producer

Justin Ball, VFX Supervisor

Richard Friedlander, VFX Producer

Paul Graff, VFX Supervisor

Steve Kirshoff, Special Effects Coordinator

J. John Corbett, Lead Compositor

Brian Sales, Lead Compositor

Ah Dee, Lead Compositor

Outstanding Special VFX for a Miniseries, Movie or Special

History: Gettysburg

Kent Johnson, VFX Supervisor

J. David Everhart, VFX Producer

Mike Yup, Lead VFX Animator

Jon Rhinehardt, Lead VFX Compositor

Jason Korber, VFX Compositor

Jared Jones, VFX Compositor

Ethan Summers, Lead Model Maker

Brent Steinberg, CGI Artist

Max Poolman, Special Effects Supervisor

The rest of the Emmy awards will be handed out on Sunday, Sept. 18, which will be telecast on FOX-TV. Highlights from the Creative Arts ceremony will air on ReelzChannel on Sept. 17.


More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top