Connect with us

‘Funan’ Director Denis Do Will Create Bucheon ‘19 Poster & Trailer


Festivals and Events


‘Funan’ Director Denis Do Will Create Bucheon ‘19 Poster & Trailer

Organizers of the Academy Award-qualifying Bucheon International Animation Festival in South Korea have announced that the official poster and trailer for the 21st edition will be created by Denis Do, the director of BIAF 2018 Jury Prize-winning feature Funan. Do will also participate in the next festival as part of the feature film competition jury.

BIAF 2019 will be held from October 18-22 (

A graduate of acclaimed French animation school Gobelins, Do has earned several prestigoius awards for his premiere feature — which is one of the films under consideration for Oscar nomination. These honors include the 2018 Annecy Cristal, and the Grand Prize and Audience Award from LA’s 2018 Animation Is Film Festival.

Funan recounts the survival and struggle of one family under the terrible regime of the Khmer Rouge, poignantly invoking the great Cambodian tragedy which claimed more than 2 million victims. The film features the voices of Louis Garrel (Innocents) and Bérénice Bejo, César winner and Oscar nominee for best supporting actress in The Artist.

Do, originally from Cambodia, first participated in BIAF back in 2010 with his student film Le Ruban.

Winners of the 2018 BIAF:

Grand Prize: This Magnificent Cake! by Marc James Roels & Emma De Swaef
Jury Prize: Funan by Denis Do
Special Distinction: Okko’s Inn by Kitaro Kosaka
Audience Prize: Okko’s Inn by Kitaro Kosaka

Grand Prize: Solar Walk by Réka Bucsi
Jury Prize: Late Afternoon by Louise Bagnall
Special Distinction: Egg by Martina Scarpelli
Special Distinction: My Grandpa Is Hiding by Anne Huynh
Audience Prize: Invaders by Daniel Prince
AniB’s Choice: Late Afternoon by Louise Bagnall

Jury Prize: The Angler by Seungwook Jang
Special Distinction: Dancing Frog by Jinman Kim

Jury Prize: Sister by Siqi Song
Special Distinction: Daisy by Yu Yu

Jury Prize: Ella, Oscar & Hoo “Hallooween” by Emmanuel Linderer
Jury Prize: B: The Beginning “Episode 1” by Kazuto Nakazawa

Netizen Choice (International): Raccoon and the Light by Hanna Kim
Netizen Choice (Domestic): Bath Room by Eunkyeong Kim & Jaehee Kim

COCOMICS Music Prize: The Last Fiction by Ashkan Rahgozar
EBS Short Prize: The Cat’s Regret by Alain Gagnol & Jean-Loup Felicoli
DHL Diversity Prize: Fest by Nikita Diakur
Yes24 Hondae Dungeon Prize: The Moon in the Hidden Woods by Takahiro Umehara
Special Prize: Fuse by Shadi Adib

Denis Do

Denis Do


More in Festivals and Events


Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top