Connect with us

Fredrikstad Animation Fest Reveals 2019 Selections


Festivals and Events


Fredrikstad Animation Fest Reveals 2019 Selections

Norway’s 2019 Fredrikstad Animation Festival (Oct. 24-27) has completed the program for its premier Nordic-Baltic animated short film competition. The selection committee was comprised of festival director Anders Narverud Moen, Swedish director Malin Erixon and French animation expert Alexis Hunot.

In total, 20 short films, 11 student films, six films for children and 33 commissioned pieces have made the cut this year. Employing a variety of techniques, these films represent the very best in short film animation from Norway, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Lithuania, Latvia and Sweden.

The number of submissions was record-high, with a particularly large number of student films being entered. The selection committee was impressed by the diversity of these films and wanted to give more films the opportunity to be shown during the festival. Therefore, 10 additional student films will be presented in a separate panorama program outside of competition.

Nordic-Baltic Short Film Competition Program 1
Night Shore | Jan Otto Ertesvåg (Norway)
Skeleton in the Closet | Tomi Malkki (Finland)
Hugo & Holger | Teddy Halkier Kristiansen (Denmark)
Florena | Lou Morton (Denmark)
Origin of Man | Pjotr Sapegin (Norway)
Suggestion of least resistance | Michelle & Uri Kranot (Denmark)
Still Lives | Elli Vuorinen (Finland)
MIMI | Lisa Fukaya (Denmark)
Boilermaker | Risto Kütti (Estonia)
Traveling Deity | Mikkel Mainz (Denmark)

Nordic-Baltic Short Film Competition Program 2
Human Nature | Sverre Fredriksen (Netherlands)
Pulsator | Thor Sivertsen (Norway)
Icon | Don’t Stop the Motion (Sweden)
Dad | Atle Blakseth & Einar Dunsæd (Norway)
Riga’s Lilac | Lizete Upite (Latvia)
Orpheus | Priit Tender (Estonia)
Farse | Robin Jensen (Norway)
Eternity | Anastasia Melikhova (Denmark)
Teofrastus | Sergei Kibus (Estonia)

Nordic-Baltic Children’s Film Competition
Angel’s Trumpet (Inglitrompet) | Martinus Klemet (Estonia)
Teofrastus | Sergei Kibus (Estonia)
Dad | Atle Blakseth & Einar Dunsæd (Norway)
All the dear little animals (Alla döda små djur) | Michael Ekblad (Norway)
Rudy and the lightning monster | Endre Skandfer (Norway)
Hugo & Holger | Teddy Halkier Kristiansen (Denmark)

Nordic-Baltic Student Film Competition
Stack | Asbjørn Lote (Norway)
Gorilla in the Washing Machine | Hung Huei Jen Red (Estonia)
Good Intentions | Anna Mantazaris (U.K.)
Sounds good | Sander Joon (Denmark)
Combing (Šukavimas) | Eglė Mameniškytė (Lithuania)
I will never see you again – only the memory (Ser deg aldri mer – bare minnet) | Suzannah Rehell Øistad (Norway)
Sweet Sweat | Jung Hyun Kim (Estonia)
Food Chain | Liis Kokk, Mari Kivi (Estonia)
Forget-me-not | Katarina Lundquist (Denmark)
Her Head (Hänen päänsä) | Emma Louhivuori (Finland)
Dream Cream | Noam Sussman (Estonia)

Nordic-Baltic Commissioned Film Competition
Gutten & Dragen | Hanne Berkaak (Norway)
The sexual deception of orchids | Mette Ilene Holmriis (Denmark)
What Is Dust? | Mette Ilene Holmriis (Denmark)
Vy – Din Bybil | TRY Apt A/S (Norway)
Money back on the skætt | TRY Apt A/S (Norway)
Psykomotorisk fysioterapi | Ernst Føyn, Syver Sanengen (Norway)
Urban Stedsinnovasjon | Morten Marius Apenes (Norway)
Space Pups | Joonas Utti (Finland)
Belzebubs – Cathedrals of Mourning | Samppa Kukkonen (Finland)
Stink-a-boo | Veronica Wallenberg (Sweden)
Zvipp | Animaskin (Norway)
Norsk Tipping Spillvett | TRY Apt A/S (Norway)
Brenners Bokhylle: Terje Vigen | Kajsa Næss & Inga Sætre (Norway)
Brenners Bokhylle: Du må ikke sove | Kajsa Næss & Inga Sætre (Norway)
Brenners Bokhylle: Bekanntskap onskas | Kajsa Næss & Inga Sætre (Norway)
Doubt out loud together | Linnea Lidegran (Belgium)
Telenor Flyt | TRY Apt A/S (Norway)
Slep meg på ferie | Animaskin (Norway)
Oslo Miljøhovedstad | Animaskin (Norway)
The Applicant | Mikkel Battefeld (Denmark)
Burden | Marko Duranovic (Denmark)
Broken | Louise Clark (Denmark)
Amnesty – Voldtekt | Animaskin (Norway)
Veien hjem – Barns beste | Robin Jensen (Norway)
Fesshompa Laila | Endre Skandfer (Norway)
Internet We Want | Ernst Føyn (Norway)
Det vises ikke utenpå | Hanne Berkaak (Norway)
TIFF 2018 | Torgeir Holm, Espen Eilertsen (Norway)
TIFF 2019 | Torgeir Holm, Christoffer Ide (Norway)
Fredrikstad P | Morten Marius Apenes (Norway)
World Science Festival: We Will Be Martians | TRY Apt A/S (Norway)

Nordic-Baltic Student Film Panorama
Animals | Tue Sanggaard (Denmark)
Monachopsis | Kim Strandli (Denmark)
Penumbra | Wilma Harju (Sweden)
Martyr | Ada Wikdahl (Norway)
Fluidity | Alma Gren (Sweden)
Zorg 2 | Auden Lincoln-Vogel (Estonia)
Desert | Sofia Pashaei (Denmark)
300 g/m2 | Kamila Kučíková (Estonia)
Pura Vida | Nata Metlukh (Estonia)
Deepness of the Fry | August Niclasen (Denmark)

Learn more at


More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top