Connect with us

Dusty Fest Winners Announced

Festivals and Events

Dusty Fest Winners Announced

The School of Visual Arts (SVA) in New York City (NYC) has announced the winners of its 23rd annual Dusty Film & Animation Festival. The awards ceremony held at the SVA Theatre capped off a three day festival highlighting over 100 live action and animated films created by graduating students of the school’s BFA Film, Video and Animation Department.

Kaukab Basheer’s Dechen and Evan Borja’s Otzi shared the top honor for Traditional Animation, with Colleen Newell’s A Good Time took home the Stop Motion award. Award presenters included John Turturro, Kathrine Narducci, Daniel Minahan, Chris Newman, Craig McKay, Barry Markowitz, Nina Rosenblum, James Mano Jr., Bill Plympton, Mike and Tim Rauch (The Rauch Brothers), Roy Frumkes, Alex Levi and Valerie Smaldone, the MC.

Winners in Animation Categories:

Outstanding Achievement in Traditional Animation 

Kaukab Basheer – Dechen

Evan Borja – Otzi

…Traditional Animation, Character Design

Jae Il Son – Vicious Circle

…Traditional Animation, Production Design

Deena Beck – Chasing Unicorns

Outstanding Achievement in Stop Motion Animation 

Colleen Newell – A Good Time

…Stop Motion Animation, Character Design

Steven Cartoccio – Concrete Jungle

…Stop Motion Animation, Production Design

Nicholas Newgent – Home Sweet Home

Visit for a complete list of winners and more information about the festival.

2012 SVA Dusty Awards

2012 SVA Dusty Awards




More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top