Connect with us

Children’s BAFTA 2018 Nominees Announced

The Amazing World of Gumball

Festivals & Events


Children’s BAFTA 2018 Nominees Announced

The nominees have been revealed for the 2018 British Academy Children’s Awards, celebrating the best in live-action and animated content for young audiences in the U.K. Leading the way for toons with three nominations each are Cartoon Network’s The Amazing World of Gumball and CBeebies’ Hey Duggee. Animation is also represented in two new categories, with Mic Graves (Gumball) and Grant Orchard (Duggee) up for the Director Award, and Sarah & Duck voice star Tasha Lawrence nominated in the Young Performer race.

The British Academy Children’s Awards will take place on Sunday, November 25, 2018.

Animation and related category nominees below; see the full list at

Clangers | Production Team – Coolabi Productions, Factory, CBeebies, BBC Worldwide/CBeebies
Hey Duggee | Grant Orchard, Janine Voong, Sander Jones – Studio AKA/CBeebies
Octonauts | Production Team – Vampire Squid Productions Limited, a Silvergate Media company, in association with Brown Bag Films/CBeebies
Sarah & Duck | Tim O’Sullivan, Sarah Gomes Harris, Jamie Badminton – Karrot Entertainment/CBeebies

Aliens Love Underpants and… | Tom Beattie, Steve Edge, David Schweitzer – Tiger Aspect Productions/SKY Kids
The Dumping Ground: Sasha’s Contact Meeting | Emma Hill, Michael J Ferns, Lauren Sequeira – BBC Children’s In House Productions/CBBC
Origins| Adam Tyler, Bob Ayres, Antonio Rebolo – CTVC/TrueTube
Tony’s Sketch Book | Tony Collingwood – Collingwood & Co in association with Little Dot Studios/Wizz

The Amazing World of Gumball | Ben Bocquelet, Mic Graves, Sarah Fell – Turner/ Cartoon Network
Grandpa’s Great Escape | Production Team – King Bert Productions/BBC One Horrible Histories | Production Team – Lion Television/CBBC
So Awkward | Sally Martin, Ian Curtis, Anthony MacMurray – Channel X North/CBBC

The Deep | Tom Tatlor, Trent Carlson, Steven Wendland – DHX Media, Astark Productions, Technicolor/CBBC
The Heroic Quest of the Valiant Prince Ivandoe | Christian Bøving-Andersen, Eva Lee Wallberg, Daniel Lennard – Turner/Cartoon Network
SpongeBob SquarePants | Stephen Hillenburg, Vincent Waller, Marc Ceccarelli – Nickelodeon Animation Studio/Nicktoons
Trollhunters | Rodrigo Blaas, Marc Guggenheim, Chad Hammes – DreamWorks Animation Television/Netflix

Doc McStuffins | Chris Nee, Norton Virgien, Colm Tyrrell – Brown Bag Films/Disney Junior
The Stinky and Dirty Show | Production Team – Brown Bag Films/Prime Video
Tumble Leaf | Kelli Bixler, Drew Hodges – Amazon Studios and Bix Pix Entertainment/Prime Video
Vampirina | Chris Nee, Norton Virgien, Nicky Phelan – Brown Bag Films / Disney Channels Worldwide/Disney Junior

Coco | Lee Unkrich, Darla K. Anderson – Pixar Animation Studios/Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
The Greatest Showman | Michael Gracey, Laurence Mark, Peter Chernin, Jenno Topping – Twentieth Century Fox/Twentieth Century Fox
Incredibles 2 | Brad Bird, John Walker, Nicole Grindle – Pixar Animation Studios/Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
Paddington 2 | Paul King, Simon Farnaby, David Heyman – StudioCanal, HeyDay Films/StudioCanal

Everybody’s Golf | Development Team – Japan Studio, Clap Hanz/ Sony Interactive Entertainment
Frantics | Lau Koresgaard, Tim May, Claire Bromley – Napnok Games/ Sony Interactive Entertainment Europe
Knack 2 | Development Team – SIE Japan Studio/Sony Interactive Entertainment Europe
Mario + Rabbids Kingdom Battle | Development Team – Ubisoft Paris & Ubisoft Milan/ Ubisoft

CBBC Buzz | Andrew Swanson, Dominic Atherton, Dave Coulson – BBC Children’s In-House Productions for CBBC
Hey Duggee: The Counting Badge | Production Team – Scary Beasties, BBC Studios, Studio AKA
Ivandoe: The Adventure Game | Eliana Sato, Matha Henson, Pete Everett – Turner/ Playerthree
Pablo’s Art World Adventure | Grainne McGuinness, Gavin Halpin – Paper Owl Films Ltd.

Mic Graves – The Amazing World of Gumball – Cartoon Network
Grant Orchard – Hey Duggee – Cbeebies
Beryl Richards – Joe All Alone – CBBC
Adam Tyler – What Do You Mean I Can’t Change the World? – TrueTube

Tom Bidwell – Katy – CBBC
Helen Blakeman – Hetty Feather – CBBC
Writing Team – The Amazing World of Gumball – Cartoon Network
Writing Team – Horrible Histories – CBBC

Chloe Lea as Katy in Katy – CBBC
Daniel Frogson as Joe Holt in Joe All Alone – CBBC
Bella Ramsey as Mildred Hubble in The Worst Witch – CBBC
Tasha Lawrence as Sarah in Sarah & Duck – CBEEBIES


Sarah and Duck

Sarah and Duck

Hey Duggee

Hey Duggee


More in Festivals & Events


Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.


To Top