Connect with us

Cartoonists to Be Honored

Festivals and Events

Cartoonists to Be Honored

The National Cartoonists Society has announced its nominees for the 2002 Reuben Awards, the “Oscars” for cartoonists. The awards will be presented at a black tie dinner at The Palace Hotel in San Francisco on Saturday, May 24 during a weekend of festivities. One artist will be named Cartoonist of the Year, professional cartooning’s highest honor.

This year’s nominees for the prestigious Reuben Award for Cartoonist of the Year are Pat Brady (Rose is Rose), Greg Evans (Luann), Matt Groening (The Simpsons) and Dan Piraro (Bizarro). The winner will receive a statuette designed by and named after the NCS’ first president, Rube Goldberg.

Cartoonists in various professional divisions are also honored with special plaques for excellence. These awards are voted on by a combination of the general membership (by secret ballot) and special juries overseen by various NCS Regional Chapters.

In the Feature Animation category, Hayao Miyazaki, director of the Oscar-winning Spirited Away, may nab another major award as he goes up against Peter De Seve (Ice Age) and Chris Sanders (Lilo and & Stitch). On the TV animation side, the competition looks a bit stiffer with Butch Hartman (Fairly OddParents), Steve Hillenburg (Spongebob Squarepants) and Greg Miller (Whatever Happened to Robot Jones?) all vying for the honor.

The other nominees are:

Advertising and Illustration: Jim Hummel, B.B. Sams, Terry Willis

Newspaper Panels: Jerry Van Amerongen (Ballard Street), Dave Coverly (Speed Bump), Wiley Miller (Non Sequitur)

Greeting Card: Oliver Christianson, Jerry King, Glenn McCoy

Magazine Gag Cartoon: Jerry King, Gary McCoy, Glenn McCoy

New Media: Mark Fiore, Bill Hinds, Ian David Marsden

Comic Book: Mike Mignola (Hell Boy), Terry Moore (Strangers In Paradise), Stan Sakai (Usagi Yojimbo)

Newspaper Illustration: Drew Friedman, Steve McGarry, Ed Murawinski

Newspaper Comic Strip: Darby Conley (Get Fuzzy), Jim Meddick (Monty), Stephan Pastis (Pearls Before Swine)

Book: Glenn McCoy, BB Sams, Bob Staake

Magazine: C.F. Payne, Tom Richmond, Jay Stephens

Editorial Cartoon: Clay Bennett, Mike Luckovich, Tom Toles

Founded in 1946, the National Cartoonists Society ( is the world’s largest and most prestigious organization of professional cartoonists. Members work in many branches of the profession, including comic strips, comic books, editorial cartoons, animation, greeting cards and magazine and book illustration.

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top