Connect with us

BYU Students’ ‘Owned’ Tops Student Academy Awards

Festivals and Events

BYU Students’ ‘Owned’ Tops Student Academy Awards

Owned, an animated film by BYU students Daniel Clark and Wesley Tippetts, won the gold medal placement in the animation category at the 2014 Student Academy Awards.

The silver medal went to Higher Sky, by Teng Cheng of USC; and the bronze to Yamashita, by Hayley Foster of Loyola Marymount University.

The gold, silver and bronze medals were announced and presented by actors Adrian Grenier, Nate Parker and Oscar nominee Demian Bichir, and the Oscar-winning directing/producing team from the animated feature Frozen: Jennifer Lee, Chris Buck and Peter Del Vecho.

The full list of winners follows:


  • Gold Medal: Person, Drew Brown, The Art Institute of Jacksonville, Florida
  • Silver Medal: Oscillate, Daniel Sierra, School of Visual Arts, New York


  • Gold Medal: Owned, Daniel Clark and Wesley Tippetts, Brigham Young University, Utah
  • Silver Medal: Higher Sky, Teng Cheng, University of Southern California
  • Bronze Medal: Yamashita, Hayley Foster, Loyola Marymount University, California


  • Gold Medal: The Apothecary, Helen Hood Scheer, Stanford University
  • Silver Medal: White Earth, J. Christian Jensen, Stanford University
  • Bronze Medal: One Child, Zijian Mu, New York University


  • Gold Medal: Above the Sea, Keola Racela, Columbia University, New York
  • Silver Medal: Door God, Yulin Liu, New York University
  • Bronze Medal: Interstate, Camille Stochitch, American Film Institute, California

Foreign Film

  • Gold Medal: Nocebo, Lennart Ruff, University of Television and Film Munich, Germany
  • Silver Medal: Paris on the Water, Hadas Ayalon, Tel Aviv University, Israel
  • Bronze Medal: Border Patrol, Peter Baumann, The Northern Film School, United Kingdom

This year saw first-time honors go to Tel Aviv University, Israel, and The Northern Film School, United Kingdom, in the foreign competition.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. They include John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.




More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top
// chamara 18.07.2021 plugins/magic-liquidizer-responsive-table/magic-liquidizer-responsive-table.php