Connect with us

‘Bench’ Wins Top Honors at LA Animation Fest


Festivals & Events

North America

‘Bench’ Wins Top Honors at LA Animation Fest

The Los Angeles Animation Festival (LAAF), which was held as an online-competition-only event this year, announced its winners Sunday night. The fest’s top honors — Best of the Fest and Best Comedy Short — were both awarded to Rich Webber’s beautifully paced and hilarious short, Bench (U.K).

Up We Soar

Up We Soar

Canada’s Yan Ma won Best Feature for his powerful documentary Up We Soar. Swedish animator Björn Granberg Ahlmark won Best Character-Based Short for his stylish Art Is Angst, and Chinese animator Mulan Fu won Best Student Character-Based Short for her touching film, Beautiful.

Art is Angst

Art is Angst

Other major award winners include:

Student Comedy Short: Doomsday Princess (Alyssa Ragni)

Stop-Motion Short: The Ephemeral Orphanage (Lisa Barcy)

Experimental Short: Rana (Mario Kreill, Cristina Dezi, Isabel Wiegand)

CGI Short: Mime Your Manners (Kate Namowicz, Skyler Porras)

Design: Blindsight (Danil Krivoruchko)

Motion Graphics: La Trance (Ben Radatz)

Mixed Media: Only A Child (Simone Giampaolo)

Best Animation from a Series: Fall in Love – “Berlin” (Cécile Rousset , Romain Blanc-Tailleur, Adrienne Nowak)

International Short: The Legend of Lwanda Magere (Kwame Nyong’o)

LAAF Special Jury Award: If Anything Happens I Love You (Will McCormack, Michael Govier)

Full list of award winners available at

[beautiful] cap: Beautiful



Judging this year’s animation shorts, features and scripts were episodic director/showrunner Otis Brayboy, animator David B Fain, co-director of CalArts Experimental Animation program Maureen Furniss, production designer/director Paul Harrod, Six Point Harness animation director Ron Myrick, animation/comedy writer Jared Nigro, award-winning filmmaker Joanna Priestley (LAAF 2019 feature winner North of Blue), filmmaker and Cal State U. Long Beach faculty member Walter Santucci, Oscar-winning co-directors Alison Snowden and David Fine, professor and independent filmmaker Sheila Sofian, animation director & creator of Stick Figure Theater Robin Steele, co-founder of FilmFest Distribution Nadav Streett, pop culture journalist and author Pat Jankiewicz and LAAF co-directors John Andrews and Miles Flanagan.

LAAF 2020 Judges

LAAF 2020 Judges


More in Festivals & Events


Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.


To Top