Connect with us

BAFTA Nominations: Four Animated Features Up in Multi-Studio Contest

BAFTA Animated Film Nominees
BAFTA Animated Film Nominees

Festivals & Events


BAFTA Nominations: Four Animated Features Up in Multi-Studio Contest

The official EE British Academy Film Awards have narrowed down the long list and announced their nominations for 2022 this morning over @BAFTA on Twitter and YouTube, revealing (among others) the animation and VFX contenders!

Notably, the Animated Film nominees largely match up with the picks we’ve seen from the Producers Guild of America, American Cinema Editors, Art Directors Guild and Motion Picture Sound Editors: Encanto (Disney), Flee (Final Cut for Real), Luca (Pixar) and The Mitchells vs. the Machines (Sony/Netflix). Unlike these other awards, the BAFTAs offered only four slots in this category, omitting the other other common studio contenders Raya and the Last Dragon (Disney) and Sing 2 (Illumination/Universal) in favor of the indie favorite Flee. The Golden Globes also had a similar lineup, including Raya and Flee but giving a nod to Michaela Pavlátová’s My Sunny Maad instead of The Mitchells, before crowning Encanto the winner.

Like the Globes, the BAFTAs have had a strong winner correlation with the Academy Awards over the years:

Year | BAFTA Award | Academy Award

  • 2007 Happy Feet
  • 2008 Ratatouille
  • 2009 WALL-E
  • 2010 Up
  • 2011 Toy Story 3
  • 2012 Rango
  • 2013 Brave
  • 2014 Frozen
  • 2015 The LEGO Movie | Big Hero 6
  • 2016 Inside Out
  • 2017 Kubo and the Two Strings | Zootopia
  • 2018 Coco
  • 2019 Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse
  • 2020 Klaus | Toy Story 4
  • 2021 Soul

Also on trend for the 2022 awards season, Jonas Poher Rasmussen’s Flee (distributed in the U.S. by NEON) is the animated breakout of the bunch, receiving an additional nomination in the Documentary category.

Select nomination categories follow, visit for the complete list.


  • EncantoJared Bush, Byron Howard, Yvett Merino, Clarke Spencer
  • Flee Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström
  • Luca Enrico Casarosa, Andrea Warren
  • The Mitchells vs. the Machines Mike Rianda, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller



  • Dune – Brian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer
  • Free Guy – Swen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick
  • Ghostbusters: Afterlife – Aharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro
  • The Matrix: Resurrections – Tom Debenham, Huw J Evans, Dan Glass, J. D. Schwalm
  • No Time to DieMark Bakowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

More in Festivals & Events


Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.


To Top