Connect with us

Animation Win at Siena a First

Festivals and Events

Animation Win at Siena a First

For the first time ever an animated film has been awarded the Grand Prix at the International Short Film Festival Siena in Italy. Described as “heart-breaking and chilling,” Suzie Templeton’s stop-motion short film, Dog, was completed as her MA graduation film from The Royal College of Art in England. It was awarded the Grand Prix by a jury of Gilles Colpart, Abi Feijò, Jerzy Kucia, Paola Starakis, and Maximum Hammerings.

The film has picked up 15 other international awards including the Hiroshima Prize 2002, the Holland Animation Festival Narrative Grand Prix 2002, the Edinburgh Film Festival’s McLaren Award 2001, the Ottawa Student Animation Festival Grand Prize 2001, the Melbourne Animation Festival’s Best Overall Film 2002 (shared with Phil Mulloy’s The Invasion), the British Animation Awards’ Paul Berry Award 2002 and the BAFTA for Short Animation 2002.

Below is a full list of winners at the 7th International Short Film Festival

Siena, Italy, 2002


Grand Prize for Best Film


Director: Suzie Templeton (U.K.)

Special Prize for Fiction Film

O gogos (The Hawker)

Director: Panayiotis Fafoutis (Greece)

Special Prize for Animated Film

La funambola (The Tight-Rope Walker)

Director: Roberto Catani (Italy)

Special Prize for Documentary

Comme un seul homme (All for one)

Director: Jean-Louis Gonnet (France)

Public’s Prize

Mashjeta – Matadero (Slaughterhouse)

Director: Xuan Acosta (Spain)

Special Mention for Experimental Film

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Director: Paul Bush (U.K.)

Special Mention for Recitation

A. Lennart Hjulstrom, Gunilla Nyroos

for the film Reparation (Riparazione)

Director: Jens Jonsson (Sweden)

Special Mention for Direction

A. Karim Baker

for the film Malcolm (Sweden)


Grand Prize for Best Film

(equal winners)


Director: Ciro Altabás (U.K. – Spain)

The summer of ’77

Director: Wendy Chandler (Australia)

Special Mention

Mollë (Apples)

Director: Anton Giulio Onofri (Italy)


CinemAvvenire Award for Best Film

La stretta di Mano (The Handshake)

Director: Davide Marengo

Kodak Prize for Best Photography


Director: Laura Chiossone

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top