Connect with us

Academy Announces Student Oscar Winners

Festivals & Events

Academy Announces Student Oscar Winners

Twelve students from nine U.S. colleges and universities and three students from outside the U.S. have been selected as winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 38th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. The student filmmakers will be brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry-related activities and social events that will culminate in the awards ceremony on Saturday, June 11, at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

The three winners in the animation category are:

Correspondence, directed by Zach Hyer, Pratt Institute, New York

Defective Detective, directed by Avner Geller and Stevie Lewis, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida

Dragonboy, directed by Bernardo Warman and Shaofu Zhang, Academy of Art University, California

Academy members viewed these films at special screenings to determine the winners’ placements – Gold, Silver or Bronze – which will not be revealed until the June 11 ceremony. Gold Medal award winners receive cash grants of $5,000, Silver Medal award winners receive $3,000 and Bronze Medal award winners receive $2,000.

The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Perhaps the most famous student Oscar winner to date is John Lasseter, who won the prize two years in a row in a 1979 and 1980 for his shorts The Lady and the Lamp and Nitemare.

The 38th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony on June 11 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required.  Tickets can be obtained online at, in person at the Academy box office or by mail. The Samuel Goldwyn Theater is located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills. For more information, call (310) 247-3600.


More in Festivals & Events


Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.


To Top