Connect with us

2021 PreVIEW Kicks Off with Trio of Free Online Sessions

PreVIEW 2021 kicks off with a session on Netflix's debut animated shorts: Canvas, If Anything Happens I Love You and Cops and Robbers
PreVIEW 2021 kicks off with a session on Netflix's debut animated shorts: Canvas, If Anything Happens I Love You and Cops and Robbers

Festivals and Events

Europe

2021 PreVIEW Kicks Off with Trio of Free Online Sessions

VIEW Conference accelerates into 2021 with a trio of exclusive PreVIEW events. Free to attend, each session features online conversation with a team of animation professionals as they discuss their latest projects.

“Our team is already working hard to make VIEW 2021 bigger and better than ever before,” says Conference Director Dr. Maria Elena Gutierrez. “The PreVIEW season of free online events is a wonderful way to stay in touch with our VIEW family around the world, and the perfect platform to showcase some of the exciting projects reaching fruition during the run-up to the conference in October.”

Friday, January 15 at 10 a.m. PST / 6 p.m. GMT / 19:00 CET, Go Behind the Scenes of Netflix’s First Three Animated Shorts. Launched in the fall of 2020, these three films assert Netflix’s belief that a great story can come in any size, shape or length, with each using diverse animation techniques to tell a powerful and emotionally-charged story about challenging social issues.

During the session, director Frank Abney and producer Paige Johnstone present Canvas, a passion project exploring the healing power of love in the face of overwhelming grief. Directors Will McCormack and Michael Govier talk about If Anything Happens I Love You, which tackles the devastating aftermath of a shooting incident at a school. Directors Arnon Manor and Timothy Ware-Hill discuss Cops and Robbers, an animated interpretation of Ware-Hill’s powerful poem about racial injustice and the murder of Ahmaud Arbery. Ramin Zahed, editor-in-chief of Animation Magazine, moderates. (Register here.)

On Saturday, January 30 at 10 a.m. PST / 6 p.m. GMT / 19:00 CET, VIEW opens the doors on a six-time Emmy Award-winning animation studio with Baobab Studios at 5: Innovations in Animated Storytelling. Join Baobab’s CEO and co-founder Maureen Fan, CCO and co-founder Eric Darnell, CTO and co-founder Larry Cutler and head of content Kane Lee as they share their insights on the studio’s first five years creating a new generation of real-time animated stories.

The team also discusses their latest animated experience, Baba Yaga, a VR exploration of the classic Eastern European legend, rendered using a range of visual styles including illustrative 2D pop-up, hand-drawn and stop-motion animation, and enhancing interactivity through a dynamic AI that places participants at the heart of the story. (Register here.)

On Friday, February 12 at 9 a.m. PST / 5 p.m. GMT / 18:00 CET, director Gitanjali Rao speaks about her debut animated feature Bombay Rose. An award-winning festival favorite, the film took two years to complete at PaperBoat Animation Studios, and tells the story of a young dancer living on the streets of Bombay.

The 2021 PreVIEW season will deliver a range of inspiring events every month through to the official launch of VIEW Conference in Torino, Italy (October 17-22). All sessions from the virtual 2020 conference are available to watch on-demand now through February 28 here.

Comments

More in Festivals and Events

Newsletter



Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top