Connect with us

2017 animago AWARDS Nominees Announced

In a Heartbeat

Festivals and Events

2017 animago AWARDS Nominees Announced

The nominees for the 2017 animago AWARDS have been announced, with nearly a thousand submissions from 58 countries narrowed down to 33 contenders in 11 categories. The awards will be announced at a ceremony September 7 during the animago CONFERENCE in Munich, Germany — set for Sept. 7-8 at the Gasteig Cultural Centre.

In a Heartbeat Beth David & Esteban Bravo, Ringling College of Art and Design, USA
Overrun Pierre Ropars, Antonin Derory, Diane Thirault, Jérémie Cottard, Matthieu Druaud & Adrien Zumbihl; Supinfocom Rubika, France
The Passenger Orlane Brouillet, Claire d’Intorni, Antoine Mariez, Lucie Martinetto, Réda Mehleb, Eva Seyeux; ESMA, France

Afterwork Matte CG, Uson Studios, Apus Estudios, Ecuador
Darrel Daniel Martínez, Marc Briones & Alan Carabantes, Spain
Revelation – The City of Haze Magic Animation Studio, Mao Qichao, China

Asteria Alexandre Arpentinier, Mathieu Blanchys, Lola Grand, Tristan Lamarca, Thomas Lemaille, Jean-Charles Lusseau; ESMA, France
Less Than Human Steffen Bang Lindholm, The Animation Workshop, Denmark
The D in David Michelle Yi, Yaron Farkash, Ringling College of Art and Design, USA

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them VFX by Rodeo FX Canada for Warner Bros.
Game of Thrones Season 6 VFX by Rodeo FX Canada for HBO
Unleashing the Dragons – Game of Thrones Season 6 VFX by Pixomondo Germany for HBO

Ein Krötenlied (Song of a Toad) Kariem Saleh & Robert Martin, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Poilus Guillaume Auberval, Léa Dozoul, Simon Gomez, Timothé Hek, Hugo Lagrange, Antoine Laroye & David Lashcari; Isart Digital, France
Shine Alexander Dietrich & Johannes Flick, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Beyond Good and Evil 2 Cinematic Trailer Ubisoft Montpellier, Unit Image, France
Skull and Bones Cinematic Trailer Ubisoft, Platige Image, Poland
The Crew 2 Cinematic Trailer Ubisoft Annecy, Unit Image, France

Citigold: “Adele” Joe Ball, Psyop, USA
Dust My Shoulders Off Grass Jelly Studio, Taiwan
Pause 2017 Opening Titles Xiaolin Zeng, XZSM, China

Canal Kitchen Unit Image, France
Die Oster-Überraschung – #DerWahreOsterhase (Rabbit School – Guardians of the Golden Egg) Netto Marken-Discount, Jung von Matt, Germany
Lube-x Noah Demirci, Hochschule Luzern, Switzerland

Antlion Audio / ModMic 5 DW Studio (UK) for Antlion Audio
Huawei Watch Glassworks (The Netherlands) for Huawei
Nanos Daniel Eisenschink, Simone Kellner & Simon Völkl, Technische Hochschule Degendorf (Germany) Bachelor Thesis

Displacity Frank ter Horst, The Netherlands
Madinat Al Irfan HHVISION, Germany
Maisons Oxygène Valentinstudio, France

Her Eventual Hesitation Marek Denko, Czech Republic
Superman Decline Dan Roarty, USA
Timothy the autumn mouse Jesus Fernandez Calderon, Costa Rica

Hamburg-based graphic designer and freelance editor Günter Hagedorn, who has managed the animago competition since it was founded 21 years ago, heads a jury comprised of character animator and filmmaker Melanie Beissswenger (Happy Feet 1 & 2, Iron Man 3), Alexander Bouquet, Head of Postproduction at JUNG VON MATT; Maggy Fischer, Head of Postproduction at Neverest; Digital Production Editor Mirja Fürst; Milkroom Studios’ MD Robert Hoffmeister (Pirates of the Caribbean 2,3 & 4, Star Wars Episodes 2 & 3); graphic & motion designer Elisa Krenz; Rolf Mütze, co-founder and MD of studio LAVAlabs; Juri Stanossek, VFX Supervisor at Mackevision Medien Design; and Dominik Zimmerle, VFX Supervisor at TRIXTER Munich.

Guest jurors include Daniel Curio, Head of Film Policy and Audiovisual Media at Bavaria’s State Ministry for Economics and Media, Energy and Technology; Jürgen Korbinian Enninger, Head of Munich’s Expert Team on Culture and the Creative Industries; and Marc Gegenfurtner, Head of Department I for the Fine Arts, Performing Arts, Film, Literature, Music, City History & Science in Munich’s Cultural Division. The jury for the Special Architecture Prize is made up of the architect, editor, graphic designer and concept designer Pedro Ferreira alongside Editor-in-Chief of DETAIL magazine, Dr. Sandra Hofmeister; Ralf Peter Knobloch, owner and interior architect/designer at Plan2Plus; and DETAIL editor Peter Popp.

The animago AWARD is an international competition to honor creatives from across the globe working in 3D animation and still image rendering, visual effects, visualization and design.

This year’s animago sponsors are Autodesk, Avid, Chaos Group, Dell EMC, Esri, Maxon, NEC Display Solutions Europe, PNY Technologies, Vogelsanger and Wacom; support provided by the Bavarian State Ministry for Economics and Media, Energy and Technology and by the Team of Excellence Culture Creative Industries City of Munich.

In a Heartbeat

In a Heartbeat


More in Festivals and Events


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top