Quirino Awards Announce Finalists for 6th Ibero-American Animation Celebration

The Ibero-American Animation Quirino Awards (premiosquirino.org) announced the finalists for their sixth edition today in Madrid. A total of 21 works from 10 countries will be competing in nine categories of these awards, created to promote and enhance the value of animation from the Ibero-American region, with the main sponsorship of the Cabildo de Tenerife.

Portugal, Argentina, and Spain top the list of countries with the most nominations with 10, nine and eight, respectively. Colombia and Uruguay have two nominations each, while Brazil, Chile and Peru have one nomination each. Five of the finalists are co-productions between countries in the Ibero-American region, including Ecuador and Mexico.

João Gonzalez’s Ice Merchants from Portugal— nominated for the 2023 Oscar for Animated Short Film — and Juan Pablo Zaramella’s Passenger from Argentina are the titles that have received the most nominations, in four categories. The short film The Garbage Man and the feature film Nayola, both from Portugal, have been nominated in three and two categories, respectively, reflecting the international momentum of Portuguese animation.

A jury made up of Andrea Fernández (art director, The Cuphead Show!, from Chile), Julio Bonet (Adult Animation Manager for Netflix, U.K.), Risa Cohen (film and video-game producer/executive producer, U.S.), Robert Jaszczurowski (producer and director, GS Animation/Grupa Smacznego, Poland) and Simón Wilches-Castro (Creative Director at Titmouse Studios, U.S., from Colombia) will be in charge of choosing the winners, which will be announced on May 13, in San Cristóbal de La Laguna, on the island of Tenerife.

The finalists presentation ceremony took place at the Embassy of Portugal in Madrid, on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of Portuguese animation, and was attended by Laura Castro, Island Director of Tourism for the Cabildo de Tenerife; Pablo Conde, Director for Fashion, Habitat and Cultural Industries at ICEX; Camilo Vázquez, Advisor to the Director General of the ICAA; Víctor Herreruela, Technical Unit Coordinator of Ibermedia; João Mira Gomes, Portuguese Ambassador to Spain; and Bea Bartolomé, Director of the Quirino Awards, as well as representatives of the embassies of Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru, Portugal and Uruguay.

Quirinos delegation
L-R: Ana Patricia Severino, Consejera de Cultura de la Embajada de Portugal, Víctor Herreruela, Coordinador de la Unidad Técnica de Ibermedia, Bea Bartolomé, Directora de los Premios Quirino, João Mira Gomes, Embajador de Portugal, Pablo Conde, director de Moda, Hábitat e Industrias Culturales de ICEX y Camilo Vázquez, Vocal asesor de la Directora General del ICAA.

The nominees are…

Feature Film

  • Nayola – José Miguel Ribeiro – Praça Filmes, coproducción con JPL Films, Soil Productions, Il Luster, Luna Blue Filmes (Portugal, Belgium, France, Netherlands)
  • The Other Shape – Diego Guzmán – Smith & Smith, Hierroanimación, Estúdio Giz, RTVCPlay (Colombia, Brazil)
  • Trunk Train: The Movie – Zé Brandão – Copa Studio (Brazil)
  • Unicorn Wars – Alberto Vázquez – Abano Producións, UniKo, Unicorn Wars AIE, Autour de Minuit, Schmuby Productions (Spain, France)



  • Jasmine & Jambo Season 1 – Sílvia Cortés – Teidees Audiovisuals, Corporació Catalana de Mitjans Audiovisuals, with the participation of IB3 (Televisió de les illes Balears), Institut Català de les Empreses Culturals (Spain)
  • The Tiny Orchestra Season 1 – Juan Carve – Señal Colombia, CPSE, Chucho TV, Apus Estudio, Mago Production, RTVE, TV3, ICEC (Peru, Uruguay, Colombia, Argentina, Spain)
  • Petit Season 3 – Bernardita Ojeda – Pájaro, RTVE, TV3, WKND, PakaPaka, Señal Colombia (Chile, Spain, Argentina, Colombia)
  • Polinopolis Season 1 – María Antolini & Martin Guido – Mago Production, en co-production with Apapacho Films, Godo Studio, with the participation of RTVE, Televisió de Catalunya, Pakapaka (Spain, Mexico, France, Argentina)


Short Film

  • The Garbage Man – Laura Gonçalves – Bando à Parte (Portugal)
  • Ice Merchants – João Gonzalez – Cola Animation, Wild Stream, Royal College of Art (Portugal, France, UK)
  • Passenger – Juan Pablo Zaramella – JPZtudio (Argentina)


School Short Film

  • Carlos Montaña – Ita Romero – Universidad Nacional de Córdoba (Argentina)
  • Chimorazo – Keila Cepeda – Universitat Politècnica de València (Spain, Ecuador)
  • Papirola – Fabián Molinaro – Universitat Politècnica de València (Spain)


Quirino nominees shorts
From top left: ‘The Garbage Man,’ ‘Ice Merchants,’ ‘Passenger’


Commissioned Film

  • The Art of Getting You Back – Dante Zaballa (Argentina)
  • Awakening Together – Claudia Prezioso (Uruguay)
  • This Dog Looks Weird Facundo Quiroga, Juan Nadalino & Sebastian García – Kiosko (Argentina)


Video Game

  • Atuel -Matajuegos (Argentina)
  • Endling – Extinction Is Forever – Herobeat Studios (Spain)
  • Han’yo – Hangover Studios, Digipen Institute of Technology Europe Bilbao (Spain)


Visual Development

  • Ice Merchants
  • Nayola
  • Passenger


Animation Design

  • The Garbage Man
  • Ice Merchants
  • Passenger


Original Music

  • Garrano – David Doutel & Vasco Sá – Bap Animation Studios, Art Shot (Portugal, Lithuania)
  • The Garbage Man
  • Ice Merchants
  • Passenger



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Most Popular





    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition