‘The Snail and the Whale’ Wins Double BAFTA Children’s Honors

BAFTA announced Sunday the winners of this year’s BAFTA Children & Young People Awards. Hosted by TV and radio presenter Lindsey Russell, the awards ceremony is a celebration of U.K. and international content for children and young people spanning film, games and television.

Magic Light Pictures’ charming 2019 special The Snail and the Whale, another of the studio’s popular adaptations of a children’s book by writer Julia Donaldson and illustrator Axel Scheffler scored an impressive double win with both the Animation prize and Director honors for first-time helmers Max Lang and Daniel Snaddon.

This year’s C&YP BAFTAs were particularly animated, with tooned up titles dominating many categories including Feature Film. Carton Saloon/Melusine/Apple’s widely acclaimed 2D folklore adventure Wolfwalkers pulling ahead of an all-animated nomination pack.

Bluey won in another happenstance all-animation race, for the best International program, El Deafo was recognized with the Content for Change award and  The Amazing World of Gumball took the Writer award. Meanwhile, Hey Duggee picked up its fourth BAFTA for Preschool Animation.

Sackboy: A Big Adventure won the Game category, following its win in the BAFTA Games Awards in 2021.


The awards were presented by a host of stars and content creators including Alishea Cambell-Drummond, Joseph Coelho, Dani Harmer, Jason Isaacs, Molly Rainford, Ben Shires, Inel Tomlinson and Amir Wilson, as well as BAFTA Young Presenter competition winners, Maryam and Jeriah. The ceremony took place at the Old Billingsgate in London.

Additionally, this weekend BAFTA hosted its first-ever Children and Young People’s Festival at its London headquarters, 195 Piccadilly. Open to the public, the festival weekend was a celebration of content for younger audiences as well as a showcase of BAFTA’s outreach work and initiatives for young people, underscoring the arts charity’s mission to nurture and inspire the budding creatives, filmmakers and talent of tomorrow.


The animation winners are…



Hilda – Production Team – Hilda Productions Limited, a Silvergate Media Company, Netflix Inc. and Mercury Filmworks/Netflix

Robin Robin – Dan Ojari, Mikey Please, Helen Argo – Aardman Animations for Netflix/Netflix

The Snail and the Whale –  Production Team – Magic Light Pictures/BBC One

The Tiger Who Came to Tea – Robin Shaw, Ruth Fielding, Camilla Deakin – Lupus Films Limited/Channel 4


Ada Twist, Scientist – Production Team – Laughing Wild, Higher Ground Productions, Wonder Worldwide and Netflix/Netflix

El Deafo – Gilly Fogg, Cece Bell, Will McRobb – Lighthouse Studios in association with Apple/Apple TV+

Only a Child – Simone Giampaolo, Gabriella De Gara – Amka Films/YouTube

Waffles + Mochi – Production Team – Higher Ground Productions for Netflix/Netflix


Steve Cox – Shaun the Sheep: The Flight Before Christmas – Aardman Animations for Netflix/BBC One

Mic Graves – The Amazing World of Gumball – Hanna-Barbera Studios Europe/Cartoon Network

Max Lang, Daniel Snaddon – The Snail and the Whale – Magic Light Pictures/ BBC One

Rhys Thomas – Dodger – Universal International Studios for BBC/CBBC


Klaus – Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh – Netflix/Netflix

The Mitchells vs. the Machines – Mike Rianda, Kurt Albrecht, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller – Netflix/Netflix

Over the Moon – Glen Keane, Gennie Rim, Peilin Chou – Netflix/Netflix

Wolfwalkers – Will Collins, Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart – Cartoon Saloon, Melusine Productions in association with Apple/Apple TV+


Astro’s Playroom – Development Team – Asobi Team/Sony Interactive Entertainment

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga – Development Team – TT Games/Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment

Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart – Development Team – Insomniac Games/Sony Interactive Entertainment

Sackboy: A Big Adventure – Development Team – Sumo Sheffield/ Sony Interactive Entertainment


Bluey – Joe Brumm, Charlie Aspinwall, Sam Moor – Ludo Studio/BBC Studios Kids & Family, Disney

City of Ghosts – Elizabeth Ito, Joanne Shen, Ako Castuera – A Netflix Original Series/Netflix

Kiri and Lou – Fiona Copland, Heather Walker, Harry Sinclair – Stretchy and Yowza Animation/CBeebies

Maya and the Three – Jorge Gutierrez, Tim Yoon, Jeff Ranjo – A Netflix Series/Netflix


Justin Fletcher – Mr. Tumble’s Busy Bus Day – BBC Studios Kids & Family/CBeebies

Chris O’Dowd – Here We Are: Notes for Living on Planet Earth – Studio AKA/Apple TV+

Cathy Tyson – JoJo & Gran Gran – BBC Studios Kids & Family Productions/CBeebies

Julie Walters – Terry Pratchett’s The Abominable Snow Baby – Eagle Eye Drama/Channel 4


Circle Square – Production Team – Wyndley Animation Ltd, Kavaleer Productions ltd/Channel 5

Hey Duggee – Grant Orchard, Sander Jones, Janine Voong – Studio AKA, BBC Studios Kids & Family/CBeebies

Pip & Posy – Production Team – Magic Light Pictures/Channel 5/Sky Kids

The Very Small Creatures – Lucy Izzard, Stephanie Owen – Aardman/Sky Kids


Max Lang, Suzanne Lang – The Snail and the Whale – Magic Light Pictures/BBC One

Joe Markham, Mic Graves, Tony Hull –  The Amazing World of Gumball – Hanna-Barbera Studios Europe/Cartoon Network

Lucy Montgomery, Rhy THomas – Dodger – Universal International Studios for BBC/CBBC

Lee Walters – Silverpoint – Zodiak Kids & Family Productions UK/CBBC


Bobby Beynon – The Adventures of Paddington – Blue Zoo Animation, NICK Jr, Studio Canal, Heyday Films, Superprod/Nick Jr

Ella Bright – Malory Towers – King Bert Productions for BBC/ CBBC

Keaton Edmund – Jamie Johnson – Short Form Film Ltd/CBBC

Taiya Samuel – JoJo & Gran Gran – BBC Studios Kids & Family Productions/CBeebies



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Get the DAILY SCOOP on what's going


Most Popular






    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition