Nominees Announced for 14th Kidscreen Awards

The shortlisted titles contending in the final judging round of the 14th Annual Kidscreen Awards have been revealed. The awards recognized excellence in children’s entertainment around the world, including animated and live-action programming, broadcasting and digital media.

Animation nominees include…

Programming Categories


Best New Series
Deepa & Anoop (Mattel Television, Netflix)
Get Rolling with Otis (9 Story Media Group, Brown Bag Films, Apple TV+)
Pretzel and the Puppies (HarperCollins Productions, House of Cool, Apple TV+)

Best Animated Series
Bluey Season 3 (BBC Studios Kids & Family, Ludo Studio, ABC Australia)
Mecha Builders (Sesame Workshop)
Octonauts: Above and Beyond (Silvergate Media, Netflix)

Best Mixed-Media Series
JoJo & Gran Gran Season 2 (BBC Children’s Productions, CBeebies)
Takalani Sesame — South African version of Sesame Street (Sesame Workshop, Pulp Films)
The Tiny Chef Show (Imagine Kids+Family, Tiny Chef Show Productions, Factory, Nickelodeon Animation, Dunshire Productions)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie
Mickey and Minnie Wish Upon a Christmas (Disney Television Animation)
Mickey’s Tale of Two Witches (Disney Television Animation)
Thomas & Friends: Race for the Sodor Cup (Mattel Television, Nelvana Enterprises)

Best Holiday or Special Episode
“Dragon Island” — Pocoyo (Zinkia Entertainment)
“Holiday Goose Chase” — Madagascar: A Little Wild (DreamWorks Animation)
“Martin Luther King Jr. Day” — Sesame Street (Sesame Workshop, HBO Max)

Best Inclusivity
Ada Twist, Scientist (Flashing Lights Media, CBeebies)
Deepa & Anoop (Mattel Television, Netflix)
Sesame Street (Sesame Workshop, HBO Max)


Best New Series
Big Blue (Guru Studio, CBC Kids)
Kung Fu Panda: The Dragon Knight (DreamWorks Animation)
The Boss Baby: Back in the Crib (DreamWorks Animation)

Best Animated Series
It’s Pony (Nickelodeon)
Kid Cosmic (Netflix, Mercury Filmworks)
Miraculous: Tales of Ladybug & Cat Noir (Zagtoon, Method Animation, Disney Channel)

Best Mixed-Media Series
Ahlan Simsim (Sesame Workshop)
Backyard Beats Season 2 (Sphere Media, TVOKids)
The Brilliant World of Tom Gates (TG Entertainment, Wild Child Animation, Black Camel Productions, Sky Kids)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie
Luck (Skydance Animation, Apple TV+)
Shaun the Sheep: The Flight Before Christmas (Aardman, Netflix)
Superworm (Magic Light Pictures, BBC One)

Best Holiday or Special Episode
It’s the Small Things, Charlie Brown (WildBrain, Apple TV+)
Snoopy Presents: For Auld Lang Syne (WildBrain, Apple TV+)
Snoopy Presents: To Mom (and Dad), With Love (WildBrain, Apple TV+)

Best Inclusivity
Best Foot Forward (Muse Entertainment, Apple TV+)
Karma’s World (9 Story Media Group, Brown Bag Films, Karma’s World Entertainment, Netflix)
Raising Dion (Netflix)


Best New Series
Heartstopper (See-Saw Films, Netflix)
Star Wars: Visions (Kamikaze Douga, Lucasfilm, Disney+)
Theodosia (Cottonwood Media, HBO Max)

Best Animated Series
Bob’s Burgers (Bento Box Entertainment, 20th Television)
Central Park (20th Television, Apple TV+)
Star Wars: Visions (Kamikaze Douga, Lucasfilm, Disney+)

Best Mixed-Media Series
Lost Ollie (21 Laps Entertainment, Netflix)
Tales from Dun Draiochta (Igloo Animations)

Best Inclusivity
Heartstopper (See-Saw Films, Netflix)
Rebel Cheer Squad: A Get Even Series (Boat Rocker Studios, BBC Children’s Productions)
The Proud Family: Louder and Prouder (Bar Productions, Disney Television Animation, WildBrain)

Shortlisted entries in the Programming categories will be reviewed and assessed by a fresh panel of judges, including Rick Clodfelter (Disney Branded Television), Libbie Doherty (ABC Australia), Rafael Garcia (Disney Branded Television), Chris Hutchison (Disney Branded Television), Kate Morton (BBC Children’s), Sarah Muller (BBC Children’s), Lucy Murphy (Sky Kids), Zack Olin (Nickelodeon), Adriano Schmid (PBS KIDS), Vicky Schroderus (YLE Children), Heather Tilert (Netflix) and Kristofer Updike (NBCUniversal).

Best Inclusivity entries were reviewed and assessed by a jury that includes Mounia Aram (Mounia Aram Company), Musa Brooker (Six Point Harness), Farrell Hall (9 Story Media Group), Christina Jang (Disney Branded Television), Lisa Jones (WGBH), David Levine (Lightboat Media), Debbie Macdonald (children’s media consultant), Saxton Moore (Lion Forge Animation), Maria Perez-Brown (TIME Studios), David Siegel (Exceptional Minds), Karissa Valencia (Netflix) and Zulema Uriarte (Netflix).

Broadcasting Categories

Channel of the Year
CBC Kids

Best Kids-Only Streaming Service
Amazon Kids+

Digital Categories


Best Website
Alma’s Way (Fred Rogers Productions, Makefully Studios, PBS KIDS)
Donkey Hodie (Fred Rogers Productions, Curious Media, PBS KIDS)

Best Web/App Series — Original
Gus Plus Us (Caster Studios)
Luna Muna (Hellosaurus)
Miikshi (Shaftesbury, Gazelle Automations)

Best Web/App Series — Branded
Blaze’s Amazing Race Through Time (Nickelodeon, YouTube)
#ComingTogether Word of the Day (Sesame Workshop)
Kids Meet (Sesame Workshop, HiHo Kids)

Best Game App — Branded
LEGO DUPLO MARVEL (The LEGO Group, Marvel Entertainment, StoryToys)
PAW Patrol Rescue World (Budge Studios, Nickelodeon)

Best YouTube Channel
Blue’s Clues & You (Nick Jr.)
Sesame Workshop India (Sesame Workshop India)

Best Alternative Game
On the Job: Astronaut (Noggin)
Speedy Delivery (Fred Rogers Productions, Curious Media)
Xavier Riddle Museum Maker (9 Story Media Group, Relish, PBS KIDS)


Best Web/App Series — Branded
Matchbox Adventures: World Tour (Mattel, Relish)
My Little Pony: Tell Your Tale (eOne, Lil Critter Workshop)
Polly Pocket: Adventure Studios (Mattel, Relish)

Best Game App — Original
Kuato Dino Tales (Kuato Studios)
Super Spy Ryan: Rumble Arena (Ryan’s World, Amazon Kids+ Original Games, p.w. Games, Sunlight Entertainment,, Amber Studio)

Best Game App — Branded
Nickverse (Paramount Games, Dubit)
Super Spy Ryan (Ryan’s World, Amazon Kids+ Original Games, p.w. Games, Sunlight Entertainment,, Amber Studio)

Best Learning App — Branded
Cyberchase: Duck Dash (The WNET Group, Bridge Multimedia, Relish, PBS KIDS)
Zigazoo (Zigazoo)

Best YouTube Channel
Dodo Kids (The Dodo, Vox Media)
Peacock Kids (Peacock Kids)
Plaza Sésamo (Sesame Workshop)

Best Alternative Game
Cha-Ching Money Adventures (Prudence Foundation, Two Moos)
Mr. Skaeg’s Letter Hunt (DR Ramasjang, Hello Monday)
Warrior Cats: Ultimate Edition (Coolabi, Aldrich-Callen Studios)

Shortlisted entries in the Digital categories will be judged in a final round by Jenny Gioia (Sesame Workshop), Marc Goodchild (IpDipSkyBlue), Beth Goss (Outright Games), Sunil Gundaria (Age of Learning), David Hutchinson (WildBrain Spark), Fredrik Loving (Spin Master), Lydia Mossahebi (BBC Children’s), Susanna Pollack (Games for Change), James Rubin (Hellosaurus) and Christine Thompson (Dark Slope).

All winners will be announced at an awards ceremony at Kidscreen Summit 2023 in Miami on Tuesday, February 14. The show will be hosted by drag performers and child educators Fay Slift and Fluffy Soufflé, who are featured in WildBrain Television’s The Fabulous Show with Fay and Fluffy. All registered Kidscreen Summit delegates are invited to attend the awards ceremony during the event.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Get the DAILY SCOOP on what's going


Most Popular






    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition