Nominees Announced for 2022 BAFTA’s Children & Young People Awards

BAFTA has announced the nominations for this year’s BAFTA Children & Young People Awards, which are returning for the first time in three years. The ceremony will take place at the Old Billingsgate in London on Sunday 27 November, hosted by TV and radio presenter Lindsey Russell. The prizes aim to celebrate the breadth and creativity of UK and international programming for children and young people spanning film, games and television as well as the next generation of change-makers and innovators through its Content for Change category.


  • Hilda. Production Team – Hilda Productions Limited, A Silvergate Media Company, Netflix Inc. and Mercury Filmworks/Netflix
  • Robin Robin. Dan Ojari, Mikey Please, Helen Argo, Aardman Animations for Netflix/Netflix
  • The Snail and The Whale. Production Team – Magic Light Pictures/BBC One
  • The Tiger Who Came To Tea. Robin Shaw, Ruth Fielding, Camilla Deakin – Lupus Films Limited/Channel 4

Content For Change

  • Ada Twist, Scientist. Production Team – Laughing Wild, Higher Ground Productions, Wonder Worldwide And Netflix/Netflix
  • El Deafo. Gilly Fogg, Cece Bell, Will Mcrobb – Lighthouse Studios In Association With Apple/Apple TV+
  • Only A Child. Simone Giampaolo, Gabriella De Gara – Amka Films/Youtube
  • Waffles + Mochi Production Team – Higher Ground Productions For Netflix/Netflix


  • Steve Cox Shaun The Sheep: The Flight Before Christmas – Aardman Animations For Netflix/BBC One
  • Mic Graves The Amazing World Of Gumball – Hanna-Barbera Studios Europe/Cartoon Network
  • Max Lang, Daniel Snaddon The Snail And The Whale – Magic Light Pictures/ BBC One
  • Rhys Thomas Dodger – Universal International Studios For BBC/CBBC

Feature Film

  • Klaus. Sergio Pablos, Jinko Gotoh – Netflix/Netflix
  • The Mitchells Vs The Machines. Mike Rianda, Kurt Albrecht, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller – Netflix/Netflix
  • Over the Moon.Glen Keane, Gennie Rim, Peilin Chou – Netflix/Netflix
  • Wolfwalkers.Will Collins, Tomm Moore, Ross Stewart – Cartoon Saloon, Melusine Productions In Assoc. with Apple/Apple TV+
Feature Film nominees (From top) “Wolfwalkers,” “Over the Moon,” “Klaus” and “The Mitchells vs the Machines.”


  • Astro’s Playroom. Development Team – Asobi Team/Sony Interactive Entertainment
  • LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga. Development Team – TT Games/Warner Bros. Interactive Entertainment
  • Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart. Development Team – Insomniac Games/Sony Interactive Entertainment
  • Sackboy: A Big Adventure. Development Team – Sumo Sheffield/ Sony Interactive Entertainment


  • Bluey. Joe Brumm, Charlie Aspinwall, Sam Moor – Ludo Studio/Disney Junior
  • City of Ghosts. Elizabeth Ito, Joanne Shen, Ako Castuera – A Netflix Original Series/Netflix
  • Kiri and Lou.Fiona Copland, Heather Walker, Harry Sinclair – Stretchy And Yowza Animation/Cbeebies
  • Maya and the Three. Jorge Gutierrez, Tim Yoon, Jeff Ranjo – A Netflix Series/Netflix


  • Justin Fletcher. Mr Tumble’s Busy Bus Day – Bbc Studios Kids & Family/Cbeebies
  • Chris O’Dowd. Here We Are: Notes For Living On Planet Earth – Studio AKA/Apple TV+
  • Cathy Tyson. Jojo & Gran Gran – BBC Studios Kids & Family Productions/Cbeebies
  • Julie Walters. Terry Pratchett’s The Abominable Snow Baby – Eagle Eye Drama/Channel 4

Pre-School – Animation

  • Circle Square. Production Team – Wyndley Animation Ltd, Kavaleer Productions Ltd/Channel 5
  • Hey Duggee. Grant Orchard, Sander Jones, Janine Voong – Studio AKA/Cbeebies
  • Pip and Posy. Production Team – Magic Light Pictures, Channel 5/Sky Kids
  • The Very Small Creatures. Lucy Izzard, Stephanie Owen – Aardman/Sky Kids


  • Max Lang, Suzanne Lang. The Snail And The Whale – Magic Light Pictures/BBC One
  • Joe Markham, Mic Graves, Tony Hull. The Amazing World Of Gumball – Hanna-Barbera Studios Europe/Cartoon Network
  • Lucy Montgomery, Rhys Thomas Dodger – Universal International Studios For BBC/CBBC
  • Lee Walters. Silverpoint – Zodiak Kids & Family Productions UK/CBBC

Young Performer

  • Bobby Beynon. The Adventures of Paddington – Blue Zoo Animation, Nick Jr, Studio Canal, Heyday Films, Superprod/Nick Jr
  • Ella Bright. Malory Towers – King Bert Productions/BBC Iplayer
  • Keaton Edmund. Jamie Johnson – Short Form Film Ltd/CBBC
  • Taiya Samuel. Jojo & Gran Gran – BBC Studios Kids & Family Productions/Cbeebies

For more info, visit



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Get the DAILY SCOOP on what's going


Most Popular


Win the 'Mad God' SteelBook

enter for your chance to win




    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition