ASIFA-Hollywood AEF Names 2020 Student Scholarship Winners

ASIFA-Hollywood’s Animation Educators Forum (AEF) has announced its scholarship recipients for the academic year 2020. This year’s scholarships total is $40,000 and will be distributed to 11 students, four graduate and seven undergraduate, from six countries. The scholarship funds will be used to cover costs for necessary software and hardware, academic research and tuition.

The AEF scholarships are merit-based and designed to support college students in continuing their education in the field of animation. Each individual student’s written proposals, letters of recommendation from faculty, and demo reel/still art were taken into consideration as part of the selection process.

“Many of our scholarship students are entering production-heavy semesters as they complete senior projects or thesis films,” said Dori Littell-Herrick on behalf of AEF. “For this reason, the Scholarship Committee has elected to make the following accommodations:

“ASIFA-Hollywood’s AEF is aware that course offerings and school schedules may be adjusted due to COVID-19 challenges, and courses may be moved online, rather than face-to-face. Because this may influence a student’s decision to enroll in Fall 2020 semester, for this year only, the AEF is allowing a scholarship winner to defer the award until the Spring 2021 or Fall 2021 semesters.”

The 2020 AEF Scholarship recipients are:

Graduate Student entering the 1st year: Iris (Irida) Zhonga, University of Groningen; Groningen, Netherlands

Graduate Student entering 2nd year: Monireh Astani, Maynooth University; Maynooth, Co. Kildare, Ireland

Graduate Student entering 5th year: Alexandre Mougenot, Ecole Mopa; Arles, France

Undergraduate Student entering 2nd year: Jaime Florian, Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana; Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia

Undergraduate Student entering 4th year:

  • Daniel Haycox, Lipscomb University; Nashville, TN, U.S.A.
  • Frida Ding, School of Visual Arts; New York, NY, U.S.A.
  • Mikaela Daoust, Concordia University; Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Natalie Ruybal, University of Southern California; Los Angeles, CA, U.S.A.
  • Sam Hrabko, Kansas City Art Institute; Kansas City, MO, U.S.A.
  • Tabo Tang, California State University Long Beach; Long Beach, CA, U.S.A.

In addition, this year ASIFA-Hollywood’s AEF is awarding our first AEF Thesis/Completion Grant to Eva Louise Hall, recent graduate of School of Visual Arts (NY) and current faculty member of Kansas City Art Institute (MO).

ASIFA-Hollywood’s AEF stated its pride in supporting these 11 animation students on their journey towards membership in the global animation community, noting that, now more than ever, animation in its many forms provides a way to communicate across cultures and across borders.

Mira by Eva Louise Hall
Mira by Eva Louise Hall


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Get the DAILY SCOOP on what's going


Most Popular


Win ‘The Art of Mamoru Hosoda’

enter for your chance to win




    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition