Five Animated Films Up for Producers Guild Award

The Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced today the Motion Pictures and Television nominees for the 31st Annual Producers Guild Awards. Winners in these categories will be announced at the PGA awards ceremony on January 18 at the Hollywood Palladium.

The nominees in the Children’s and the new Innovation category were announced last month.

Up for the Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures are the people behind some of the most spectacular studio feats of the year:

  • Abominable (DreamWorks/Pearl) Suzanne Buirgy
  • Frozen II (Disney) Peter Del Vecho
  • How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World (DreamWorks) Bradford Lewis, Bonnie Arnold
  • Missing Link (LAIKA) Arianne Sutner, Travis Knight
  • Toy Story 4 (Disney-Pixar) Mark Nielsen, Jonas Rivera

Peter Del Vecho previously won the category for Frozen and was nominated for The Princess and the Frog. Bradford Lewis previously won for Ratatouille. Bonnie Arnold has won for Toy Story and been nominated for the first two Dragon movies. Arianne Sutner and Travis Knight have been twice nominated, for Kubo and the Two Strings and ParaNorman; Knight was also nominated for The Boxtrolls. Jonas Rivera has won for Inside Out and Up — the latter was also nominated in the main Theatrical Motion Picture category.

The Producers Guild Awards are often a bellwether for the Oscars. Since its inception, the PGA has predicted 21 of the 30 winners of the Academy Award for Best Picture. This year’s contenders are 1917, Ford v Ferrari, The Irishman, Jojo Rabbit, Joker, Knives Out, Little Women, Marriage Story, Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood and Parasite.

At the awards ceremony this month, the Guild will present special honors to powerhouse producers and leaders who have left their indelible mark on the entertainment industry. The 2020 honorees include Ted Sarandos (Milestone Award); Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner of Plan B (David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures); Marta Kauffman (Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television); Octavia Spencer (Visionary Award); and the Lionsgate film Bombshell (The Stanley Kramer Award).

Additionally, the winner of the Innovation Award and the winner in the Short-Form category will be announced at a PGA nominees event on January 16 at the Hollywood Museum in Los Angeles. The winners in the Children’s and Sports categories will be announced at a nominees celebration in New York on January 13 at the Ascent Lounge.

See the complete list of Motion Picture and TV nominees on the PGA website.Missing Link Missing Link[/caption]

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World
Frozen 2
Frozen 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Get the DAILY SCOOP on what's going


Most Popular


Win ‘The Art of Love, Death + Robots’!

enter for your chance to win




    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition