Creative Arts Emmys: ‘Simpsons’ Reclaims Animation Crown

The Television Academy dished out its 2019 Creative Arts Emmy Awards on the evenings of Saturday, September 14 and Sunday, September 15, honoring outstanding artistic and technical achievement across an array of categories.

Animated series joining the previously announced Juried Award winners included Fox’s The Simpsons, which scored the Outstanding Animated Program honors for the 11th time, breaking a dry spell since 2008. Matt Groening’s record-breaking series holds the highest number of nominations (27) and wins for the category. It’s closest competition is Comedy Central’s South Park (not nominated this year), which has 17 nominations and five wins.

Netflix’s break-out mature auds anthology series Love, Death + Robots capped its debut year with a win for Outstanding Short Form Animated Program, adding to its four Individual Achievement in Animation juried honors. The Tim Miller/David Fincher project beat out three-time winner Robot Chicken (which won last year and has an additional five nominations).

Portions of the ceremonies will be aired on FXX on Saturday, September 21 at 8 p.m. ET. The 70th Primetime Emmy Awards will air the following day, Sept. 22, at 8 p.m. ET on Fox.

An abridge list of winners follows. Visit to view all category winners and nominees.

2019 Creative Arts Emmy Award winners:
Outstanding Animated Program
Big Mouth “The Planned Parenthood Show” (Netflix)
Bob’s Burgers “Just One of the Boyz 4 Now” (FOX)
BoJack Horseman “Free Churro” (Netflix)
Adventure Time “Come Along With Me” (Cartoon Network)
WINNER: The Simpsons “Mad About the Toy” (FOX)
          Written by Michael Price
          Directed by Rob Oliver
          James L. Brooks, Executive Producer
          Matt Groening, Executive Producer
          Al Jean, Executive Producer
          Matt Selman, Executive Producer
          John Frink, Executive Producer
          Stewart Burns, Co-Executive Producer
          Bill Odenkirk, Co-Executive Producer
          Joel H. Cohen, Co-Executive Producer
          Rob LaZebnik, Co-Executive Producer
          Jeff Westbrook, Co-Executive Producer
          Brian Kelley, Co-Executive Producer
          Dan Vebber, Co-Executive Producer
          Ryan Koh, Co-Executive Producer
          Richard Raynis, Produced by
          Tom Klein, Animation Producer
          Andrea Romero, Animation Producer
          Mike B. Anderson, Supervising Producer
          Eddie Rosas, Assistant Director
          Carlton Batten, Lead Animation Timer

Outstanding Short Form Animated Program
Robot Chicken “Why Is It Wet?” (Adult Swim)
SpongeBob SquarePants “Plankton Paranoia” (Nickelodeon)
Steven Universe “Reunited” (Cartoon Network)
Teen Titans Go! “Nostalgia Is Not a Substitute for an Actual Story” (Cartoon Network)
WINNER: Love, Death & Robots “The Witness” (Netflix)
          Written/Directed by Alberto Mielgo
          David Fincher, Executive Producer
          Tim Miller, Executive Producer
          Jennifer Miller, Executive Producer
          Joshua Donen, Executive Producer
          Victoria Howard, Supervising Producer
          Gennie Rim, Producer
          Gabriele Pennacchioli, Supervising Director

Outstanding Children’s Program
A Series of Unfortunate Events (Netflix)
Carmen Sandiego (Netflix)
Song of Parkland (HBO)
Star Wars Resistance (Disney Channel)
WINNER: When You Wish Upon a Pickle: A Sesame Street Special (HBO)
          Brown Johnson, Executive Producer
          Benjamin Lehmann, Executive Producer
          Ken Scarborough, Executive Producer
          Mindy Fila, Producer
          Karyn Leibovich, Producer
          Stephanie Longardo, Producer

Outstanding Character Voice-over Performance
Kevin Michael Richardson, F Is for Family (Netflix)
Alex Borstein, Family Guy (FOX)
Hank Azaria, The Simpsons (FOX)
Eric Jacobson, When You Wish Upon a Pickle: A Sesame Street Special (HBO)
WINNER: Seth MacFarlane, Family Guy (FOX)

Outstanding Special Visual Effects
Star Trek: Discovery “Such Sweet Sorrow, Part 2” (CBS)
The Man in the High Castle “Jahr Null” (Amazon Prime)
The Orville “Identity, Part 2” (FOX)
The Umbrella Academy “The White Violin” (Netflix)
WINNER: Game of Thrones “The Bells” (HBO)
          Joe Bauer, Lead Visual Effects Supervisor
          Steve Kullback, Lead Visual Effects Producer
          Adam Chazen, Visual Effects Associate Producer
          Sam Conway, Special Effects Supervisor
          Mohsen Mousavi, Visual Effects Supervisor
          Martin Hill, Visual Effects Supervisor
          Ted Rae, Visual Effects Plate Supervisor
          Patrick Tiberius Gehlen, Previs Lead
          Thomas Schelesny, Visual Effects and Animation Supervisor

Outstanding Special Effects in a Supporting Role
Catch-22 “Episode 4” (Hulu)
Deadwood: The Movie (HBO)
Escape at Dannemora “Episode 6” (Showtime)
Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan “Pilot” (Amazon Prime)
WINNER: Chernobyl “1:23:45” (HBO)
          Lindsay McFarlane, Overall VFX Producer
          Max Dennison, Overall VFX Supervisor: DNEG
          Claudius Christian Rauch, SFX Supervisor
          Clare Cheetham, VFX Producer: DNEG
          Laura Bethencourt Montes, VFX Line Producer: DNEG
          Steven Godfrey, CG Supervisor: DNEG
          Luke Letkey, 2D Supervisor: DNEG
          Christian Waite, FX Supervisor: DNEG
          William Foulser, Environments Supervisor: DNEG

Love, Death + Robots
Love, Death + Robots
Chernobyl “1:23:45”
Chernobyl “1:23:45”
Game of Thrones “The Bells”
Game of Thrones “The Bells”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Get the DAILY SCOOP on what's going


Most Popular






    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition