Academy Invites 842 New Members

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has issued membership invitations to 842 filmmakers, craftspeople and creatives for 2019. Among them are 21 Oscar winners and 82 nominees, representing 85 nominations total.

Hailing from 59 countries, this year’s class represents continued gains in gender and racial diversity in the Academy. Fifty percent of the invitees are women, which brings the overall percentage up to 32% women in 2019, from 25% in 2015. Twenty-nine percent of new members are people of color, bringing the overall total to 16% in 2019, up from 8% in 2015.

The full list of invited new members is available here.

The Short Films and Feature Animation invitees are:
Mikhail Aldashin
Gil Alkavetz
Maria Del Puy Alvarado (OSCAR NOMINEE)
Julius Amedume
Cyril Aris
Louise Bagnall (Late Afternoon, Donkey; OSCAR NOMINEE)
Josh Beveridge (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, Storks)
Rodrigo Blaas (La Luna, Alma)
Steve Bloom (Coco, One Man Band)
Neil Boyle (Sherlock Gnomes, The Last Belle)
Suzanne Buirgy (Home, Kung Fu Panda 2)
Jim Capobianco (Mary Poppins Returns, Ratatouille; OSCAR NOMINEE)
Andrew Carlberg
Andrew Chesworth (One Small Step, Juiced and Jazzed; OSCAR NOMINEE)
Jeremy Comte (OSCAR NOMINEE)
Manuel Cristobal (Bunuel in the Labyrinth of the Turtles, Wrinkles)
Erika Dean Dapkewicz (Puss in Boots, Monsters vs. Aliens)
Patrick Delage (The Secret Life of Pets 2, Sing)
Jonathan Del Val (The Grinch, The Secret Life of Pets)
Jean de Meuron
Celine Desrumaux (Age of Sail, The Little Prince)
Emma De Swaef (This Magnificent Cake!, Oh, Willy…)
Danny Dimian (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, The Angry Birds Movie)
Piotr Dumala
Nash Dunnigan (The Peanuts Movie, Ice Age: Continental Drift)
Ron Dyens (Tram, Madagascar – Carnet de Voyage)
Jeremie Fajner (White Fang, Song of the Sea)
Marianne Farley
Abi Feijo (Uncle Thomas, Kali the Little Vampire)
Jeff Gabor (Ice Age: Collision Course, Epic)
Sari Gennies (James and the Giant Peach, FernGully)
Nuria Gonzalez Blanco (Late Afternoon, Violet, OSCAR NOMINEE)
Maria Gracia Turgeon (OSCAR NOMINEE)
Trisha Gum (The LEGO Movie 2: The Second Part, The LEGO Batman Movie)
Jennifer Hager (Zootopia, Moana)
Karl Edward Herbst (Smallfoot, Hotel Transylvania 2)
Jeffrey Hermann (Bilby, Bird Karma)
Julian Higgins
Andreas Hykade (Love & Theft, Ring of Fire)
Trevor Jimenez (Weekends, Key Lime Pie, OSCAR NOMINEE)
Kevin J. Johnson (Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked, Astro Boy)
Joung Yumi (Love Games, Dust Kid)
Sandy Yun-Shan Kao (Trolls, Shrek Forever After)
Anurag Kashyap
Mara Kassin
William Kentridge (The Refusal of Time, Felix in Exile)
Aleksandra Korejwo (The Swan, Carmen Torero)
Igor Kovalyov (Milch, Flying Nansen)
Raimund Krumme (Passage, Crossroads)
Jerzy Kucia (Fugue for Cello, Trumpet and Landscape, Reflections)
Antoneta Kusijanovic
Vincent Lambe (OSCAR NOMINEE)
Brian Larsen (Piper, Brave)
Brian Leach (Ralph Breaks the Internet, Zootopia)
Matthias Lechner (Zootopia, Escape from Planet Earth)
Kira Lehtomaki (Ralph Breaks the Internet, Zootopia)
Patrick Lin (Toy Story 4, Inside Out)
Julie Lockhart (Shaun the Sheep Movie, The Pirates! Band of Misfits)
Rocio Lopez Ortiz
Phil Lord (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, The LEGO Movie, OSCAR WINNER)
Joanna Lurie (Flowing through Wonder, The Silence beneath the Bark)
Christopher Miller (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, The LEGO Movie, OSCAR WINNER)
Nijla Mu’min
Rani Naamani (How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World, The Boss Baby)
Takashi Nakamura (Harmony, A Tree of Palme)
Terence Nance
Guy Nattiv
Victor Navone (Inside Out, Cars 2)
Damian Nenow (Another Day of Life, Paths of Hate)
Diane Obomsawin (I Like Girls, Kaspar)
David O’Reilly (The External World, Please Say Something)
Mamoru Oshii (The Sky Crawlers, Ghost in the Shell)
Katsuhiro Otomo (Steamboy, Akira)
Marie-Helene Panisset (OSCAR NOMINEE)
Bob Persichetti (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, The Little Prince, OSCAR WINNER)
Malcon Pierce (Moana, Frozen)
Bobby Pontillas (One Small Step, Moana, OSCAR NOMINEE)
Qiu Yang
Bonne Radford (Smallfoot, The Road to El Dorado)
Andrew Rosen (The Breadwinner, Todd & the Book of Pure Evil: The End of the End)
Rodney Rothman (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, OSCAR WINNER)
Rick Rothschild (FlyOver America, Captain EO)
James Ryan (The Boss Baby, Turbo)
Yuichiro Saito (Mirai, The Boy and the Beast, OSCAR WINNER)
Jason Schleifer (The Boss Baby, Megamind)
Alex Schwartz (Mr. Peabody & Sherman, How to Train Your Dragon)
Chad Sellers (Olaf’s Frozen Adventure, Zootopia)
Domee Shi (Bao, Inside Out, OSCAR WINNER)
Gerry Shirren (Song of the Sea, Carnivale)
Lynn Smith (Soup of the Day, Pearl’s Diner)
Marc Smith (Big Hero 6, Treasure Planet)
Erik Smitt (Incredibles 2, Piper)
Julien Soret (Despicable Me 3, The Secret Life of Pets)
Rodrigo Sorogoyen (OSCAR NOMINEE)
Olivier Staphylas (Penguins of Madagascar, Puss in Boots)
Christina Steinberg (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse, Rise of the Guardians)
Jackie J. Stone
Bin-Han To (Revolting Rhymes, The Princess, the Prince and the Green-Eyed Dragon)
David Torres (How to Train Your Dragon 2, Megamind)
Josie Trinidad (Ralph Breaks the Internet, Zootopia)
Jeffrey Turley (Mary Poppins Returns, Feast)
Dominique Welinski
Dean Wellins (Tick Tock Tale, The Iron Giant)
Kevin H. Wilson Jr. (OSCAR NOMINEE)
Catherine Winder (The Angry Birds Movie, Escape from Planet Earth)
Lauren Wolkstein
Steven Woloshen (Casino, Snip)
Shaofu Zhang (One Small Step, Dragonboy)

2019 new academy members
2019 new academy members


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Get the DAILY SCOOP on what's going


Most Popular


Win ‘The Art of Love, Death + Robots’!

enter for your chance to win




    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition