MPSE Announces 66th Golden Reel Award Nominees

The Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE) today announces nominees for the 66th Annual MPSE Golden Reel Awards. Nominees represent the work of the world’s most talented sound artists and their contributions to the past year’s most outstanding feature film, television, animation and computer entertainment productions.

This year’s Filmmaker Award will be given to Antoine Fuqua. The Career Achievement Award will be given to Stephen H. Flick.

“Sound artists continue to push boundaries for artistry and technical achievement in entertainment sound,” said MPSE president Tom McCarthy. “This year’s nominees represent the best work in sound across films, television, games, documentaries and other media. On behalf of The Motion Picture Sound Editors, I would like to congratulate all the nominees for their outstanding contributions to the art of sound.”

The 23 category winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony on Sunday, February 17 at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel in Los Angeles. Tickets available here.

Select category nominees below; the full list will be available on on January 21.

Short Form Animation
Bilby – Universal Pictures
Bird Karma – Universal Pictures
Crow: The Legend – Baobab Studios
Lost Property Office – 8th in Line Productions
Overwatch “Reunion” – Blizzard Entertainment
Rise of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles “Mystic Mayhem” – Nickelodeon
Spy Kids: Mission Critical “The Vinyl Countdown” – Netflix
Star Wars Rebels “The World Between Worlds” – Disney / ABC
Steven Universe “Reunited” – Cartoon Network

Non-Theatrical Animation
Batman: Gotham by Gaslight – Warner Bros. / DC Entertainment
LEGO DC Super Hero Girls: Super-Villain High – Warner Bros. / DC Entertainment
LEGO DC Comics Super Heroes: The Flash – Warner Bros. Animation
Next Gen – Netflix
Suicide Squad: Hell to Pay – Warner Bros. Animation / DC Entertainment
The Death of Superman – Warner Bros. Animation
Trollhunters: Tales of Arcadia – DreamWorks / Netflix

Feature Film – Animation
Incredibles 2 – Walt Disney Pictures
Isle of Dogs – Fox Searchlight Pictures
Peter Rabbit – Sony Pictures Entertainment
Ralph Breaks the Internet – Walt Disney Animation Studios
Smallfoot – Warner Bros.
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse – Sony Pictures Entertainment
The Grinch – Universal Pictures

Gaming: Computer Cinematic
Battlefield V – Electronic Arts
God of War – Sony Interactive Entertainment
League of Legends – Riot Games
Spider-Man – Sony Interactive Entertainment
World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth – Blizzard Entertainment

Gaming: Computer Interactive Game Play
Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey – Ubisoft
Battlefield V – Electronic Arts
God of War – Sony Interactive Entertainment
Shadow of the Tomb Raider – Square Enix
Spider-Man – Sony Interactive Entertainment

Special Venue
Age of Sail – Chromospheres / Google Spotlight
Backyard Wilderness – SK Films
DreamWorks Theater Presents: Kung Fu Panda: “The Emperor’s Quest” – DreamWorks
Spheres – City Lights / Oculus VR
Wreck it Ralph: Ralph Breaks VR – ILMxLAB

Feature Film – Music Underscore
Aquaman – Warner Bros.
A Quiet Place – Paramount Pictures
Black Panther – Walt Disney Studios / Marvel Studios
First Man – Universal Pictures
Isle of Dogs – Fox Searchlight
Mission: Impossible – Fallout – Paramount Pictures
Roma – Netflix
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse – Sony Pictures Entertainment
The Ballad of Buster Scruggs – Netflix

Feature Film – Musical
A Star is Born – Warner Bros.
Bohemian Rhapsody – Twentieth Century Fox
Mary Poppins Returns – Walt Disney Studios

Spider-Man: Into the SpiderVerse
Spider-Man: Into the SpiderVerse
Steven Universe
Steven Universe
Mary Poppins Returns
Mary Poppins Returns
Isle of Dogs
Isle of Dogs
Bird Karma
Bird Karma


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Get the DAILY SCOOP on what's going


Most Popular


Win the 'Mad God' SteelBook

enter for your chance to win




    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition