Kidscreen Unveils 2017 Awards Nominees

The shortlisted finalists for the 2017 Kidscreen Awards, honoring the best in children’s television and digital media, have been announced. Contenders in the Programming, Broadcasting and Digital categories — currently lead by Nickelodeon and Sprout with 10 and 8 nods, respectively — will continue through a final round of judging, with the winners to be announced at an awards presentation to be held February 14, during Kidscreen Summit 2017 in Miami.

This year’s professional judges panels are:

Programming: Andy Yeatman (Netflix), Sarah Muller (Channel 5), Amy Friedman (Sprout), Lucy Murphy (Sky), Grainne Rowe (Disney Channels EMEA), Jackie Edwards (BBC Children’s), Andrew Thomas (Hulu), Nina Hahn (Nickelodeon International) and Deirdre Brennan (Corus Kids).

Digital: Angela Lin (YouTube), Azadeh Jamalian (Tiggly), Bill Shribman (WGBH), Jens Peter de Pedro (Monkimun), David Kleeman (Dubit), Eric Huang (Made in Me), Daniel Bays (Lightning Sprite Media) and Brenda Bisner (Baby Toes Media).

Programming nominees


Best New Series:
Dot. (Industrial Brothers/The Jim Henson Company/CBC/Sprout)
Jamillah and Aladdin (Kindle Entertainment/Mediabiz International/Toonz Entertainment)
Nina’s World (Sprout)

Best Animated Series:
Clangers (Coolabi Productions/Factory/CBBC)
Doc McStuffins (Disney Junior/Brown Bag Films)
Sarah and Duck (Karrot Entertainment/CBeebies/BBC Worldwide)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series:
The Adventures of Napkin Man (Breakthrough Entertainment in association with Little Airplane and CBC Kids)
Floogals (Jellyfish/Nevision/Zodiak Kids Studios/Sprout)
Sesame Street (Sesame Workshop)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie:
Katie Morag (Move On Up/CBeebies/BBC Scotland)
Peg + Cat (The Fred Rogers Company/9 Story Media Group)
Peppa Pig Pumpkin Party (Astley Baker Davies/Entertainment One)


Best New Series:
Bottersnikes & Gumbles (Cheeky Little Media/Mighty Nice/CAKE Entertainment)
The Deep (DHX Media/A Stark Production)
Home: Adventures With Tip & Oh (DreamWorks Animation Television/Netflix)

Best Animated Series:
Miles From Tomorrowland (Disney Junior/Wild Canary Animation)
Scream Street (Coolabi Productions/Factory/CBBC)
We Bare Bears (Cartoon Network Studios)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series:
Horrible Histories (Lion Television)
Matilda and the Ramsay Bunch (One Potato Two Potato)
Odd Squad (The Fred Rogers Company/Sinking Ship Entertainment)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie:
Bruno & Boots: Go Jump in the Pool (Aircraft Pictures)
Shaun the Sheep: The Farmer’s Llamas (Aardman Animations)
Stick Man (Magic Light Pictures)


Best New Series:
Bear Grylls Survival School (Potato/BGV)
Lost and Found Music Studios (Radical Sheep Productions/Boat Rocker Studios)
Raising Expectations (Aircraft Pictures in association with Dolphin Entertainment)

Best Animated Series:
Bob’s Burgers (Bento Box Entertainment/20th Century FOX Television)
Dragons: Race to the Edge (DreamWorks Animation Television /Netflix)
Voltron Legendary Defender (DreamWorks Animation Television/Netflix)

Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series Degrassi:
Next Class (DHX Media/Netflix)
Gortimer Gibbon’s Life on Normal Street (Amazon Studios/Pictures in a Row)
The Next Step (Radical Sheep Productions/Boat Rocker Studios)

Best One-Off, Special or TV Movie:
The Curse of Clara: A Holiday Tale (Smiley Guy Studios)
L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables (Breakthrough Entertainment)
Nowhere Boys: The Book of Shadows (Matchbox Pictures)

Broadcasting nominees

Channel of the Year:

Best Channel Design:

Best Programming Block:
CBS Dream Team, It’s Epic! (Litton Entertainment)
Sunny Side Up (Sprout)
WILD Kids (National Geographic)

Best Channel Website:
Nick Jr.

Best On-Air Host or Hosting Team:
Jonas Lihaug Fredriksen, Henrik Hildre—FlippKlipp Studio (NRK Super)
Charlie Engelman, Kirby Engelman, Patrick Rahill—Nature Boom Time (National Geographic)
Carly Ciarrocchi, Tim Kubart, Kaitlin Becker, Emily Borromeo—Sunny Side Up (Sprout)

Digital nominees


Best Learning App—Tablet:
Hopster (Hopster)
Nick Jr. App (Nickelodeon Digital)
Pocoyo Playset: Let’s Move (Early Learning Collaborative/ HITN/Zinkia Entertainment)

Best Learning App—Smartphone:
Curious World (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
HooplaKidz Nursery Rhyme Activities (YoBoHo)
Ready Jet Go! Space Explorer App (Wind Dancer Films/Two Moos)

Best Game App—Tablet:
CBeebies Playtime Island (BBC)
Curious George Train Adventures (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Best Game App—Smartphone:
Curious George Train Adventures (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
Curious World (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Best Streaming Video Platform:
BBC iPlayer Kids (BBC)
Hopster (Hopster)
NOGGIN (Nickelodeon Digital)

Best Web/App Series:
Disney Whisker Haven Tales with the Palace Pets (Disney Publishing Worldwide)
Elmo at the Zoo (Sesame Workshop)
Sesame Street Happy Birthday Songs (Sesame Workshop)

Best Website:
Dinosaur Train (The Jim Henson Company/Sparky Entertainment) (Nickelodeon Digital)
Ready Jet Go! (Wind Dancer Films/Two Moos)

Best eBook:
Colored Dots (Uyoung Interactive Technology Co.)
PAW Patrol—Meet Tracker! (Nickelodeon)
PAW Patrol—Pirate Pups (Nickelodeon)


Best Learning App—Tablet:
La Francomobile (TV5 Québec Canada/Manito Média/Tobo)
Little Lunch (Australian Children’s Television Foundation)
Nancy Drew: Codes & Clues (HeR Interactive/Brandissimo!/Picture Fish Studios)

Best Learning App—Smartphone:
Monkey Spot Scavenger Hunts (Monkey Bar Collective)
Nature Cat’s Great Outdoors (Spiffy/PBS/REDspace)
Nickelodeon: Code a Character (Nickelodeon Digital)

Best Game App—Tablet:
Animal Jam—Play Wild! (WildWorks)
Flipped Out—The Powerpuff Girls (Cartoon Network Games/Grumpyface Studios)
Toca Blocks (Toca Boca)

Best Game App—Smartphone:
Cut the Rope: Magic (Zeptolab)
Teeny Titans—Teen Titans Go! (Cartoon Network Games/Grumpyface Studios)
Total Drama Presents: ‘Donculous Dash (Secret Location/Cartoon Network Canada/Fresh TV/Bell Fund/Teletoon)

Best Streaming Video Platform:
Flipp Klipp Studio (NRK Super) (Nickelodeon Digital)
Toca TV (Toca Boca)

Best Web/App Series:
Don’t Mix Us Up (Toca Boca/FableVision)
Secret Life of Boys (Zodiak Kids Studios for CBBC and ABC Australia)
Tsum Tsum Kingdom (Disney Consumer Products and Interactive Media)

Best Website:
Animal Jam (WildWorks)
National Geographic Kids (National Geographic Partners) (Nickelodeon Digital)

Best Tablet:
LeapFrog Epic (LeapFrog)
La Tablette Motion 2 by Gulli (KD Interactive/Taldec/Gulli)

Best eBook:
Little Lunch: A Teachers’ Guide (Australian Children’s Television Foundation)
The Restricted Adventures of Raja (RedRover/Sticky Brain Studios)
Stand Together! Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows (Nickelodeon)

Kidscreen Summit 2017
Kidscreen Summit 2017


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Get the DAILY SCOOP on what's going


Most Popular






    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition