‘Gumball’ Earns Pair of Children’s BAFTA Noms

The Amazing World of Gumball earned two nominations in this year’s BAFTA Children’s Awards, leading all animated contenders.

The Cartoon Network Europe-produced show was nominated in the Animation and Writer categories. The awards are presented in 20 categories honoring the best in all styles of children’s media.

The winners will be announced Nov. 23 at a ceremony in London hosted by Doc Brown.

The full list of nominees follows:


  • The Amazing World of Gumball Ben Bocquelet, Mic Graves, Sarah Fell – Cartoon Network Studios Europe/Cartoon Network
  • Dennis The Menace & Gnasher Production Team – Red Kite Animation/Sticky Pictures/CBBC
  • Shaun The Sheep Richard Starzak, Jay Grace, John Woolley – Aardman Animations/CBBC
  • Strange Hill High Production Team – Factory, CBBC and Fremantle/CBBC

Channel Of The Year

  • Cartoon Network
  • CBBC
  • CBeebies
  • CYW


  • 4 O’Clock Club Production Team – CBBC/CBBC
  • All At Sea Production Team – CBBC/CBBC
  • Diddy Movies 2 Steve Ryde, Dez Mcarthy, Annette Williams – CBBC/CBBC
  • Dnn: Definitely Not Newsround Production Team – CBBC/CBBC


  • Katie Morag Production Team – Move on Up/CBeebies
  • Rocket’s Island Production Team – Lime Pictures/CBBC
  • Roy Production Team – Jam Media/CBBC
  • Wolfblood Production Team – CBBC/CBBC


  • Fort Boyard: Ultimate Challenge Nigel Pickard, Joe Shaw – The Foundation TV Productions Ltd/ALP/CITV
  • Hacker Time Production Team – CBBC/CBBC
  • Junior Bake Off Production Team – Love Productions/CBBC
  • Swashbuckle Production Team – CBeebies/CBeebies


  • Deadly Pole To Pole Production Team – CBBC/CBBC
  • Frontline Families – A Newsround Special Production Team – CBBC/CBBC
  • Junior Vets Production Team – True North/CBBC
  • Operation Ouch! Production Team – Maverick Television/CBBC

Feature Film

  • Frozen Peter Del Vecho, Jennifer Lee, Chris Buck – Walt Disney Animation Studios/Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures
  • How To Train Your Dragon 2 Dean DeBlois, Bonnie Arnold – DreamWorks Animation/Twentieth Century Fox
  • The LEGO Movie Phil Lord, Christopher Miller, Dan Lin, Roy Lee – Warner Bros. Pictures, Village Road Show Pictures/Warner Bros. Pictures
  • Maleficent Joe Roth, Robert Stromberg, Linda Woolverton – Roth Films/Walt Disney Pictures/Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures


  • Mario Kart 8 Development Team – Nintendo/Nintendo
  • Pokemon X & Y Development Team – Game Freak inc/The Pokémon Company International/Nintendo
  • Rayman Legends Michel Ansel, Christophe Heral, Jean-Christophe Alessandri – Ubisoft Montpellier/Ubisoft
  • Tearaway Development Team – Media Molecule/Sony Computer Entertainment

Independent Production Company Of The Year

  • Blue Zoo
  • Dot to Dot Productions
  • Factory TM Ltd.
  • Kindle Entertainment Ltd.

Interactive: Adapted

  • Disney Animated Development Team – Touch Press/Disney Interactive/Walt Disney Animation Studios
  • Ludus Rob Hyde, Aled Perry, Ruth Mills – Boom Kids and Cube Interactive
  • Madron Luke Davis, Wil Stephens, Darren Wall – Glasshead/Cube/Planet Jump Productions
  • Room On The Broom: Games Development Team – Magic Light Pictures & Stormcloud Games

Interactive: Original

  • Dixi Dan Berlinka, Nina Metivier, Melanie Stokes – Kindle Entertainment/Syndicut/Lucy Atkinson/CBBC Online
  • Makies Development Team – MakieLab
  • Mixels Development Team – Hibernum for Cartoon Network/Cartoon Network
  • Tee & Mo Dominic Minns, Juliet Tzabar, Alan Owen – Plug-in Media/CBeebies Online


  • Adventure Time Pendleton Ward, Graham Falk, Nick Jennings – Cartoon Network Studios/Cartoon Network
  • Doc McStuffins Norton Virgien, Theresa Mayer, Chris Nee – Brown Bag Films/Disney Junior
  • SpongeBob SquarePants Production Team – Nickelodeon/Nicktoons
  • Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Production Team – Nickelodeon/Nicktoons

Learning: Primary

  • Cyw A’r Wyddor (Cyw And The Alphabet) Helen Davies, Carol Woodman – Boom Kids and Cube Interactive
  • Lizard Girl Iona Sweeney, Lynsey Miller, Vivienne Franzmann – Feelgood Fiction/BBC Two
  • Llandudno: A Seaside Town Michael Davies, David Cortese – Landlines
  • The Story Of Britain Production Team – Lion Television/Ben Tobbit/BBC Learning

Learning: Secondary

  • Children Of The Holocaust Production Team – Fettle Animation/BBC Online
  • Exploring The Past: Post War Britain Dominic Sant, Rhonda Evans, Nick Price – Evans Woolfe Media/BBC Two
  • Matters Of Life And Death Andy Glynne, Dylan Howitt – Mosaic Films/BBC Two
  • Poetry: Between The Lines Production Team – Somethin’ Else/BBC Two


  • Akai Osei 4 O’Clock Club – CBBC
  • Bernard Cribbins Old Jack’s Boat – CBeebies
  • Cherry Campbell Katie Morag – CBeebies
  • Kia Pegg The Dumping Ground – CBBC

Preschool: Animation

  • Bing Mikael Shields, Nicky Phelan, Jeroen Jaspaert – An Acamar Films Production coproduced by Brown Bag Films and Tandem Ltd/CBeebies
  • Dinopaws Production Team – Kindle Entertainment Ltd/Guru Studio Ltd/Laughing Gravy Media Ltd/CBeebies
  • Postman Pat And The Rubber Duck Race Production Team – Mackinnon and Saunders/CBeebies
  • Sarah & Duck Tim O’Sullivan, Sarah Gomes Harris, Jamie Badminton – Karrot Entertainment/CBeebies

Preschool: Live Action

  • CBeebies Three Little Pigs Angela Young, Charlotte Bushell, Vanessa Amberleigh – CBeebies/CBeebies
  • Grandpa In My Pocket Mellie Buse, Jan Page, Martin Franks – Adastra Creative Ltd/CBeebies
  • Old Jack’s Boat Dominic MacDonald, Tony Reed, Tom Poole – CBeebies/CBeebies
  • Something Special Angela Young, Kat Woolfe, Vanessa Amberleigh – CBeebies/CBeebies


  • Iain Stirling The Dog Ate My Homework – CBBC
  • Naomi Wilkinson Naomi’s Nightmares of Nature – CBBC
  • Richard McCourt & Dominic Wood Absolute Genius with Dick and Dom – CBBC
  • Sam Nixon & Mark Rhodes Sam and Mark’s Big Friday Wind-Up – CBBC

Short Form

  • CITV Share A Story 2013 Waldemar Werbel, Jadine Sage, Frank Mansfield – CITV/CITV
  • Gumball Song Production Team – Cartoon Network On Air/Blue-Zoo/Cartoon Network
  • Milkshake! Monkey Production Team – Channel 5/Match Cut/Channel 5
  • Nina Needs To Go Production Team – ArthurCox/Disney Junior


  • Sergio Casci Katie Morag – CBeebies
  • Declan De Barra Roy – CBBC
  • Debbie Moon Wolfblood – CBBC
  • Writing Team The Amazing World of Gumball – Cartoon Network
The Amazing World of Gumball
The Amazing World of Gumball


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Get the DAILY SCOOP on what's going


Most Popular






    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition