Nominees Set for 2014 animago AWARDS

Five nominees in ten categories have been named for the 2014 animago AWARDS.

The nominees were chosen by an independent jury of experts, who gathered in Berlin to make their final decisions from 1,014 submissions sent in by digital artists from 67 countries.

The winners will be announced at a gala award event Oct. 16 during the animago AWARD & CONFERENCE, which runs Oct. 16-17 at the Metropolis Halle at Filmpark Babelsberg in Potsdam, Germany.

Nominees for the 2014 animago AWARD are:

Best Postproduction

  • Ripper Street – Season 2, Screen Scene VFX, Ireland
  • Game of Thrones – Season 4, Mackevision Medien Design, Germany
  • Vaterfreuden – Frettchen, ScanlineVFX, Germany
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier, Trixter Film, Germany
  • Bot Wars Trailer, Unexpected, Germany

Best Short Film

  • Le Gouffre, Lightning Boy Studio, Canada
  • Exode, Kathleen Cartier, Sandrine Gimenez, Nicolas Mrikhi, Baptiste Roy, Thomas Saez, France
  • Cuerdas, Pedro Solís García, Spain
  • The Present, Jacob Frey, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  • Lune et le Loup, Toma Leroux, Patrick Delage, France

Best Advertising Production

  • L’effet Papayon – La fashpomme victime, WIZZdesign, France
  • Coca Cola Noël, Unit Image, The Andy’s, France
  • Adidas Climachill – A Cooling Revolution, glassworks, The Netherlands
  • Nature Sweet – Stop the abuse!, Unit Image, The Andy’s, France
  • BBC Winter Olympics, Platige Image, Poland

Best Interactive Production

  • Skoda Superb – Visualizer, Aixsponza, Germany
  • Immersive Lining, q-bus Mediatektur, Germany
  • Paperworld – Augmented Reality, Rayd, Germany
  • Time Machine: How great HelV is!, Tamschick Media+Space, Germany
  • SimpSymm – Prozeduraler Skulpturengenerator, Christoph Bade, Dominik Kolb, Hochschule Ravensburg-Weingarten, Germany

Best Game Design

  • Watch Dogs, Ubisoft, Germany
  • Titanfall, Respawn Entertainment, Electronic Arts, Germany
  • Extrasolar, Lazy 8 Studios, United States
  • YoKaisho, Klaus Fehkührer, Verena Demel, Sebastian Rangger, Wilfried Gruber, Radomir Dinic, Michael Huber, Sandra Obermann, Corinna Drebes, Fachhochschule Salzburg, Austria
  • Ryse: Son of Rome, Crytek, Germany

Best Trailer/Opener

  • EVE: Prophecy, CCP Games, Iceland
  • Assassin’s Creed Unity: E3 World Premier Cinematic, Digic Pictures, Hungary
  • Ryse: Son of Rome – Legend of Damocles, Platige Image, Poland
  • The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, Platige Image, Poland
  • Titanfall, Respawn Entertainment, Electronic Arts, Germany

Best Visualization

  • Save Help Us, Cluster Studio, Mexico
  • Greenpeace – New Bees, Polynoid, Woodblock, Germany
  • Citius, Altius, Fortius, Felix Jacob Deimann, Fachhochschule Dortmund, Germany
  • RedBull Formula1 Spielberg track introduction, Aixsponza, Peter Clausen Filmproduktion, Germany
  • Peseta, Uli Henrik Streckenbach, Robert Pohle, Jochen Mader, Sebastian Werner, Germany

Best Young Production

  • Wrapped, Roman Kälin, Falko Paeper, Florian Wittmann, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  • Atome, Adrien Cappai, Chloé Mille, Valentin Tuil, GOBELINS, l’école de l’image, France
  • The Rise and Fall of Globosome, Sascha Geddert, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  • Tea Time, Marie Kister, Marcel Knüdeler, Wilfried Pollan, Thomas Schienagel, Georg-Simon-Ohm Hochschule Nürnberg, Germany
  • R’ha, Kaleb Lechowski, Mediadesign Hochschule, Germany

Jury’s Prize

  • SuperBot – A magnifying mess, Trexel Animation, Argentina
  • Azarkant, Andrey Klimov, Russia
  • Pinnipèdes, Victor Caire, Supinfocom Arles, France
  • Little Freak, Edwin Schaap, The Netherlands
  • Story, Grass Jelly Studio, Taiwan

Best Still

  • Mercedes-Benz 4MATIC Schneemonster, Mackevision Medien Design, Jung von Matt, Limmat, Germany
  • Winter, Cihan Özkan, Turkey
  • Haze, Cornelius Dämmrich, Germany
  • Kinderparadies, Flaeck GmbH, Tobias Stierli, Switzerland
  • Smoked, GV Prashanth, India

The jury chairman is Günter Hagedorn (animago co-founder and graphic designer). The jury members are: Dirk Beichert (freelance photographer and architectural visualiser), Linda Breitlauch (visiting professorship at University of Applied Sciences in Trier), Alexander Ellendt (head of Vogelsänger GmbH, Units Film, Event, New Media), Florian Gellinger (VFX production supervisor, RISE | Visual Effects Studios), Sabine Hatzfeld (editor for Digital Production and animago AWARD & CONFERENCE), Tobias Horvath (senior Flame artist, nhb studios),Csaba Letay (design/direction/compositing, Polynoid), Michael C. Müller (specialist creation technologies, adidas AG), Mate Steinforth (Creative Director, SEHSUCHT).

From the Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg two guest jurors were invited, Elmar Giglinger (managing director) and Ina Göring (head of business development projects and innovative audiovisual content).

animago AWARDS
animago AWARDS


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Get the DAILY SCOOP on what's going


Most Popular


Win the 'Mad God' SteelBook

enter for your chance to win




    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition