Academy Invites 276 New Artists, Execs to Membership

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is extending invitations to join the organization to 276 artists and executives who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to theatrical motion pictures. Those who accept the invitations will be the only additions to the Academy’s membership in 2013.

“These individuals are among the best filmmakers working in the industry today,” said Academy President Hawk Koch. Their talent and creativity have captured the imagination of audiences worldwide, and I am proud to welcome each of them to the Academy.

The 2013 invitees in animation and visual effects are:

Short Films /Feature Animation

  • Eric Darnell (Madagascar, Shrek)

  • John C. Donkin (Ice Age Continental Drift, Gone Nutty)

  • Ken Duncan (9, Shark Tale)

  • Danielle Feinberg (Brave, WALL-E)

  • Sam Fell (ParaNorman, The Tale of Despereaux)

  • Matt Groening (Maggie Simpson in ‘The Longest Daycare,’ The Simpsons Movie)

  • Vicky Jenson (Shark Tale, Shrek)

  • Travis Knight (ParaNorman, Coraline)

  • Steve May (Brave, Up)

  • Rich Moore (Wreck-It Ralph, Dr. Seuss’ Horton Hears a Who!)

  • Robert Neuman (Wreck-It Ralph, Tangled)

  • Brandon Oldenburg (Rise of the Guardians, The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore)

  • PES (Fresh Guacamole, Western Spaghetti)

  • Steve Pilcher (Brave, Shrek the Third)

  • Clark Spencer (Wreck-It Ralph)

Visual Effects

  • Jason Bayever (Life of Pi, The Wolfman)

  • Mark Breakspear (The Great Gatsby, Tropic Thunder)

  • Philip Brennan (Snow White and the Huntsman, Minority Report)

  • Tony Clark (Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire)

  • David Clayton (The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, Avatar)

  • Michael Dawson (Snow White and the Huntsman, The Devil’s Double)

  • Erik-Jan De Boer (Life of Pi, Night at the Museum)

  • Donald R. Elliott (Life of Pi, Seabiscuit)

  • John Goodson (Red Tails, Marvel’s The Avengers)

  • Charley Henley (Prometheus, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix)

  • John McLeod (Django Unchained, The Aviator)

  • Mark Noel (Oz The Great and Powerful, Transformers)

  • David Prescott (Transformers, X-Men)

  • Guillaume Rocheron (Life of Pi, Sucker Punch)

  • Wendy Rogers (Puss in Boots, Shrek)

  • David Alexander Smith (The Amazing Spider-Man, The Matrix Reloaded)

  • Wayne Stables (The Adventures of Tintin, Avatar)

  • Richard Stammers (Prometheus, Angels & Demons)

  • Richard Stutsman (Zero Dark Thirty, Independence Day)

  • Christopher Townsend (Captain America: The First Avenger, The Day after Tomorrow)

  • Stephan Trojansky (Marvel’s The Avengers, Hereafter)

  • David Watkins (Ali, Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom)

  • Jeff White (Marvel’s The Avengers, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull)

  • Trevor Wood (Prometheus, The Golden Compass)

Each year Academy members may sponsor one candidate for membership within their branch. New member application reviews take place in the spring. Applications for the coming year must be received by March 20, 2014.

New members will be welcomed into the Academy at an invitation-only reception in September.

the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Get the DAILY SCOOP on what's going


Most Popular


Win ‘The Art of Love, Death + Robots’!

enter for your chance to win




    Print or Digital - Subscribe!
Already a subscriber? Access your digital edition