Kids Crazy for Loonatics

Despite some fan opposition over the updated look of Warner Bros.’ classic Looney Tunes characters, the new Loonatics Unleashed was the top-rated Saturday morning show among U.S. kids 2-11, according to the studio. The series debuted Saturday, Sept. 17, on Kids’ WB! and placed first with girls 2-11, and second with boys 2-11, kids 6-11, boys 6-11 and girls 6-11.

Loonatics Unleashed is set 700 years in the future and stars Looney Tunes descendents Ace Bunny, Lexi Bunny, Danger Duck, Slam Tasmanian, Rev Runner and Tech E. Coyote as the fearless defenders of Acmetropolis. Each possesses special powers that help them deal with supernatural phenomena and such ominous villains as a nefarious carnival barker, a gravity-defying professional thief and giant Viking robots from another dimension. The show is produced by Warner Bros. Animation under the guidance of exec producer Sander Schwartz, Emmy Award-nominated producer Ron Myrick, story editor Rick Copp and creative execs Christopher Keenan and Megan Casey.

Celebrity guest voices tapped for the series include Academy Award nominee Michael Clarke Duncan (Sin City, The Green Mile), Emmy Award winner Tim Curry (The Wild Thornberrys, The Rocky Horror Picture Show) Vivica A. Fox (Kill Bill: Vol. 1, Missing), TV icon Florence Henderson (The Brady Bunch), Tom Kenny (SpongeBob SquarePants, The Batman) and Phil LaMarr (Pulp Fiction, Mad TV).

Headlining Loonatics’ cast of regulars is Emmy winner Rob Paulsen (Steven Spielberg Presents Pinky & The Brain, Animaniacs), Emmy nominee Kevin Michael Richardson (The Batman, The Matrix Revolutions), Charlie Schlatter (Diagnosis Murder, TV’s Ferris Bueller), Jason Marsden (Spirited Away, Static Shock), Candi Milo (Mucha Lucha!, Dexter’s Laboratory) and newcomer Jessica DiCicco (The Buzz on Maggie).

Loonatics Unleashed debuted alongside two other new Warner Bros. Animation series, Coconut Fred’s Fruit Salad Island and Johnny Test. Fans can catch the looney action on Kids’ WB! Saturday mornings at 10:30 a.m. ET/9:30 a.m. PT).