Connect with us

Emmy Competition Eats Simpsons’ Shorts


Emmy Competition Eats Simpsons’ Shorts

Fox’s primetime animated institution The Simpsons scored its nineteenth Emmy win Saturday as the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences presented the creative arts portion of the 55th annual Primetime Emmy Awards. This is the eighth time the show has won in the category Animated Program Less Than One Hour.

The Simpsons episode “Three Gays of the Condo” proved a winner for exec. producers James L. Brooks, Matt Groening and Al Jean; co-executive producer-writers Ian Maxtone-Graham and Matt Selman; co-executive producers Dan Greaney, Carolyn Omine, Tim Long, John Frink, Don Payne, Kevin Curran and Dana Gould; supervising producer Larina Jean Adamson; animation executive producer Mike Wolf; animation producers Laurie Biernacki and Rick Polizzi; writer Matt Warburton; director Mark Kirkland; supervising director Jim Reardon; assistant director Matthew Faughnan; and animation timer Milton Gray.

Upon accepting the award, Jean commented, “For those who say the quality of The Simpsons has declined over the years, I guess this proves so have the Emmys.”

As previously announced, long-time Simpsons player Hank Azaria also walked off with the statuette for Voiceover Performance for the episode “Moe Baby Blues.”

Discovery Channel also continues the success of its Walking With Dinosaurs series as the special Chased by Dinosaurs stomped the competition in the category Animated Program One Hour More. Credited crew include Gaynelle Evans, exec. producer; Adam Kemp, BBC exec. producer; Tim Haines, Jasper James, producer-director-writers; Sharon Reed, William Sargent, Fiona Walkinshaw, exec. producers of CG; and Mike Milne, director of CG.

Individual Achievement in Animation awards went to Scott Wills, production designer on Cartoon Network’s Samurai Jack (Episode XXV); Dan Krall, layout artist on Samurai Jack (Episode XXXII); and Maciek Albrecht, animator on HBO’s Through A Child’s Eyes: September 11, 2001 (“Imagine” and “Turn, Turn, Turn”).

Nabbing top honors for Special Visual Effects for a Miniseries, Movie or Special was the SCI FI Channel miniseries Frank Herbert’s Children of Dune (Night 1). The crew included visual effects supervisor Ernest Farino, visual effects producer Tim Mchugh, visual effects coordinator Vit Komrzy, lead model maker Andrew Harlow, lead visual effects compositor Glenn Campbell and lead visual effects animators Chris Zapara, Don L. Mccoy, Barry Howell and Michael F. Hoover.

In the Special Visual Effects for a Series category, the cancelled Fox show Firefly was recognized for the episode “Serenity” and the work of visual effects supervisor Loni Peristere, visual effects coordinator Kristen Leigh Branan, digital effects supervisors crewmembers Emile Smith and Rocco Passionino, CG supervisor Lee Stringer, compositing supervisor Chris Jones and animators Kyle Toucher, Jarrod Davis, and Terry Naas.

Cable channel E! will broadcast the awards ceremony on Sept. 19. The rest of the Primetime Emmy Awards will be telecast on Sept. 21 on Fox.

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in Television


Recent Posts

Featured Trailers

Could not generate embed. Please try it again.

To Top