John Lasseter Elected First VP of Academy


Pixar and Disney chief creative officer John Lasseter has been elected to the post of first VP of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. He previously served terms as treasurer and secretary.

Cheryl Boone Isaacs, who begins her 21st year as a governor representing the Public Relations Branch, was elected president of the Academy. Elections were held by the organization’s Board of Governors on Tuesday night (July 30).

Jeffrey Kurland and Leonard Engelman were elected to vice president posts; Dick Cook was elected treasurer; and Phil Robinson was elected secretary.

These will be the first officer stints for Engelman, Kurland and Cook. Lasseter previously served one-year terms as treasurer (2011-2012) and secretary (2009-2010). Robinson served as vice president during the past year, his fourth consecutive term in that office (2009-2013).

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

  • Cheese

    Now that JL’s VP for AMPAS, he’ll probably rig the whole system making sure Disney’s “Frozen” win the Academy Award for Best Animated Picture, and Disney’s “Saving Mr. Banks” win the Academy Award for Best Picture.

  • Kansas

    What a wonder and an achievement! Being such a great man in the world of animation, he deserves this Academy responsibility! After all, I met him personally before for real, and thats a plus! Again, Long Live Pixar! Let DreamWorks Animation fall!