VES to Honor Spielberg

From working with a temperamental mechanical shark in Jaws to overseeing giant CG robot mayhem in Transformers, filmmaker Steven Spielberg has come a long way as purveyor of movie magic. In honor of his achievements in the industry, the acclaimed director and producer will receive the Visual Effects Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award at the 6th Annual VES Awards. Joining the ranks of past winners George Lucas, Robert Zemeckis and Dennis Muren, Spielberg will receive the honor on Feb. 10 at the Kodak Theatre Grand Ballroom in Hollywood.

‘Steven Spielberg is the first director that to comes to mind when you think of amazing visual effects due to his enormous body of creative groundbreaking work,’ says Jeff Okun, chair of the Visual Effects Society. ‘This award also recognizes what kind of magic can be made when a filmmaker knows how best to mine and collaborate with the talent, experience and knowledge of his vfx team.”

“Steven Spielberg’s resume reads like a timeline of visual effects milestones,” adds VES exe director Eric Roth. ‘As a director and a producer, he is constantly pushing the boundaries of the industry and rethinking the function of visual effects in film, TV, video games and animation to find new and innovative methods of storytelling. There are very few artists who have done more to move the vfx industry forward.’

The annual VES Awards honors the most outstanding visual effects in film, television, commercials and video games. Last year’s event attracted more than eight hundred celebrities, visual effects and animation artists, dozens of nominees and members of the film, television and games industries. Winners from 2007 include Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest (John Knoll, Jill Brooks, Hal Hickel, Charlie Gibson) for Outstanding Visual Effects in a Visual Effects Driven Motion Picture and Battlestar Galactica‘Episode 303b “Exodus” (Gary Hutzel, Michael Gibson, Alec McClymont, Brenda Campbell) for Outstanding Visual Effects in a Broadcast Series. Submissions for the next awards are open through Dec. 1 at