Tech Oscars Honor Pixar Co-Founder Catmull

Ed Catmull, who co-founded Pixar and currently serves as president of Pixar and Walt Disney Animation Studios, was awarded the Gordon E. Sawyer Award at the Oscars’ SciTech Awards on Feb. 7.

Computer scientist and motion picture technologist Mark Kimball received the academy’s John A. Bonner Medal at the event, which was hosted by Jessica Biel at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel.

The other honorees were: Steve Hyl’n, for developing the Hyl’n Lens System for motion picture effects photography; Erwin Melzner, Volker Schumacher and Timo Muller for designing the Arrimax 18/12 lighting fixture; Jacques Delacoux and Alexandre Leuchter for designing the Transvideo video assist monitors; and Bruno Coumert, Jacques Debize, Dominique Chervin and Christophe Reboulet for designing the Angenieux 15-40 and 28-76 zoom lenses.