Student Academy Award Winners Announced

Eleven film students from nine U.S. universities were honored in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences’ 30th Annual Student Academy Awards competition on Sunday. The winners participated in several days of industry-related activities and social events prior to the awards presentation ceremony at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Actor/comedian and former Student Academy Award winner Bob Saget presented the medals in both the alternative and animation categories.

In the Animation category, the Gold Medal was awarded to Perpetual Motion from Kimberly Miner at Rochester Institute of Technology (R.I.T.) in Rochester, New York. Silver went to Bert from Moonsung Lee at Academy of Art College, San Francisco and Bronze was given to A Work in Progress by Wes Ball of Florida State University, Tallahassee.

In addition to trophies, gold medal winners received $5,000, silver medal winners were awarded $3,000 and bronze medal winners took home $2,000.

These students first competed in one of three regional competitions. Each region was permitted to send the Academy as many as three films in each of the four categories. The finalist films were then screened and voted on by Academy members to select the winners.